Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE Head Unit Upgrade

JoeGould92

Reaction score
Members Ride
Still shopping!
I'm new here but I'm sure it's been asked a million times already... Here goes..

I'm looking at buying a VE. I'm a tech-head and want to have Android Auto & a nice big touchscreen, so my research so far says I'll have to get a Series 1, because it seems the Series 2 head units aren't removable/upgradable because of the air con & other related built-ins. Is this the case? Is there a plug-in of some sort to enable Android Auto/Apple Car Play?

My plan is to have something post-2009 so I can use it for Uber Driving (toying with the idea), and a Series 2 would be ideal, but if I can't upgrade the screen to a bigger aftermarket touchscreen & built-in wi-fi for wireless phone connectivity/Android Auto, I'll have to settle for a Series 1...... Thoughts?

Gavkat09

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vy sv8
I went a pioneer headunit with the aerpro fascia kit. Works well for me

JoeGould92

Reaction score
Members Ride
Still shopping!
I went a pioneer headunit with the aerpro fascia kit. Works well for me
That's what I was thinking of doing, only I have the opportunity to buy a Series 2 at a great price and with low Ks. I'd give it a lot more thought if someone had managed to replace a Series 2 head unit for an aftermarket one

Asmodai78

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Calais V Sportwagon
Check out kayhanaudio they have VE S1 now S2 head units to replace the stock one

Fu Manchu

We’ll get together. Have a few laughs.
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Crewman, VZ Cross 8, & ya mum.