Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ve immobillised

Glenn Parker

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
47
Location
Mildura
Members Ride
VP Commodore Berlina
Hi all ,my battery went flat on my ve sv6 ,i replaced the battery and now the car wont start and its saying engine immobilized. Can anyone give me an idea why please
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,387
Reaction score
529
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
When you say you replaced the battery,
Was that the
Car Battery ?
or
Remote Battery ?

If you replaced the Remote Battery,
Did the RFID Chip fall from the Remote Shell ?
or
Have you Replaced the Remote Shell ?
As there is a Chip in the Remote Key Heads that is required by the immobiliser to be recognized, so the Car will see it as an authorised key to start the car.

Do you have a spare Key ?
maybe try that ?
 
Last edited:

Glenn Parker

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
47
Location
Mildura
Members Ride
VP Commodore Berlina
When you say you replaced the battery,
Was that the
Car Battery ?
or
Remote Battery ?

If you replaced the Remote Battery,
Did the RFID Chip fall from the Remote Shell ?
or
Have you Replaced the Remote Shell ?
As there is a Chip in the Remote Key Heads that is required by the immobiliser to be recognized, so the Car will see it as an authorised key to start the car.

Do you have a spare Key ?
maybe try that ?

No it was the car battery.
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,387
Reaction score
529
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
Hmm,

Check the RFID Receiver connector under the dash,
If that is ok,
It could even be the RFID Reader,
as its sounds like its lost the Key RFID's.


Disconnect the Battery for 10 mins, then reconnect it and try again.
Edit:
I think I read this somewhere, and thought it was unusual, but worth a try.
Turn the ignition to the on position for 10 minutes, and see if it recognises the RFID Chip in the Key Head.
 
Last edited:

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,387
Reaction score
529
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
The other option is to get is scanned,
as it will indicate the fault, and were to start looking.

Side note:
When I received my new [VE] Key, I knew I had to program it in,
So for the case of the exercise, I tried to start my car, and it displayed on the screen engine immobilised,
Being there is 2 Area's a VE Key is required to be programmed into,
  1. Immobiliser menu
  2. Receiver to lock & unlock the car
I then programmed in to both options/menu's and it worked correctly.
 
Last edited:

BrettP75

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2018
Messages
45
Reaction score
99
Points
18
Age
44
Location
Campbelltown
Members Ride
VE Calais S1 6.0Ltr
The other option is to get is scanned,
as it will indicate the fault, and were to start looking.

Side note:
When I received my new [VE] Key, I knew I had to program it in,
So for the case of the exercise, I tried to start my car, and it displayed on the screen engine immobilised,
Being there is 2 Area's a VE Key is required to be programmed into,
  1. Immobiliser menu
  2. Receiver to lock & unlock the car
I then programmed in to both options/menu's and it worked correctly.
how’d you program it ? As I need to replace both my key heads as they are stuffed.
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,387
Reaction score
529
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
I have a Autel Unit/Analyser and did the programming myself,
As I originally purchased a earlier Autel unit, so I could use it on my VY, as the dealers quote was ridiculous,
but since sold that,
and purchased the updated one.
I buy a Tech2 and used that a couple of times and was a great tool to use,
but was not really using it to its full potential, as I did buy it as a collectors item,
but figured, it would be handy to put to good use,
so I sold it to a JC Member earlier in the year.
 
Top