Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ve key programming help (tech 2 guru's)

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by AiRHeaD, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. AiRHeaD

    AiRHeaD New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    sydney
    Members Ride:
    VY 5.7 Calais, VY S
    Hi guys,

    I've gotten my hands on a mates tech 2 and I now need to help to program a key for my Ve.
    I asked him but he has only used it for vt-vz keys and it appears the ve key have a completely different setup

    Can anyone help?? Thanks




    Cheers
     
  2. JonnyDe

    JonnyDe Donating Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    No chance of doing it at home. Tech 2 has to be connected to the Holden Global connet website. So you will need a dealerships username and password plus cables to connect your tech 2 to the computer and the software to get the security information onto your computer from the tech 2. Just take it to a dealer
     
  3. Sabbath'

    Sabbath' Redblock Jesus

    Messages:
    6,000
    Likes Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    80 Series// MK5 GTi//
    Yup. Going to need a connection to GM system.
     
  4. dmp8810

    dmp8810 Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    07 VE SV6
    Many manufacturers need you to have DEALER PORTAL connection. When dealing with anything like security,updates of modules etc. key workings of a car.Diesel injector coding etc. HEAPS. getting locked down hardcore :(
     
  5. AiRHeaD

    AiRHeaD New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    sydney
    Members Ride:
    VY 5.7 Calais, VY S
    Awesome, oh well I had better go down to the stealership then

    Thanks for the quick response guys
     
  6. Brett_jjj

    Brett_jjj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    How did you go at the dealers? Id like to know the difference between the VS-VZ key programming proceedure and the VE proceedure. Ive programmed a few new VS, VT and VX ignition keys with my tech 1 and tech 2, but I havent had a chance to check out a VE model yet. I havent needed to connect the tech 1 or tech 2 to any dealer website etc to program new keys for VS, VT and VX. The only security stuff Ive come across so far, that needed the tech2 to be connected to a dealer website, was when fitting brand new blank ECUs, or for downloading and flashing updated factory tunes to the ECU.
     
  7. Boxy

    Boxy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Take it to a Locksmith, not the dealer. You'll save about $200 and it will get done faster, as the dealership get the key cut by a locky anyway.

    Also programming a VE key is pretty easy, although I've only used the MVP Pro (locksmith car diagnostics). You need all your old keys and the new one to do it, only takes about 5 minutes.
     
  8. Sabbath'

    Sabbath' Redblock Jesus

    Messages:
    6,000
    Likes Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    80 Series// MK5 GTi//
    Locksmiths have Tech 2 and dealership portals now?

    Do you not read?
     
  9. Boxy

    Boxy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    His asking about programming a VE key, which locksmiths can do.
     
  10. Sabbath'

    Sabbath' Redblock Jesus

    Messages:
    6,000
    Likes Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    80 Series// MK5 GTi//
    AHAHAHAHA...Ha...Ha...Ha

    No they cant.
     
  11. Boxy

    Boxy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Are you a locksmith?
     
  12. Sabbath'

    Sabbath' Redblock Jesus

    Messages:
    6,000
    Likes Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    80 Series// MK5 GTi//
    Do i need to be one to know that you cannot program a key and code it to the VE without going through the GM Security portal. And THEN programming the Immobiliser function? Because if you cant program the Immobiliser then you have a dead car for 10 minutes.
     
  13. wamboin23

    wamboin23 Donating Member w/ Boost

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Wamboin, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VS Calais - Cooled L67 + T56 | VR Acclaim V6
    i'm guessing a locksmith just copies the key, same as how they do the earlier keys.

    but what happens if you lose all the keys? 100% a locksmith can't do a thing about it.
     
  14. Sabbath'

    Sabbath' Redblock Jesus

    Messages:
    6,000
    Likes Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    80 Series// MK5 GTi//
    All locksmiths do is cut the key to the key code which the dealer supplies. Which will work in the ignition lock and any key barrels (except for glovebox) From there the new key has to be programmed so that it will be recognised by the car. This requires Tech 2 and also access to the GM Global Connect network.
     
  15. aaronevolution

    aaronevolution Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Hastings, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    TURISMO VZ SS 6.0
    Did Nicholas Cage ask you to get these from your guy on the inside?
     
  16. Boxy

    Boxy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    We can also go through the ECU and change designated key numbers, so you're wrong in that respect also. This goes for all commodore transponder keys.
     
  17. wamboin23

    wamboin23 Donating Member w/ Boost

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Wamboin, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VS Calais - Cooled L67 + T56 | VR Acclaim V6
    so the VE keys can't even be cloned like the earlier ones?
     
  18. drewwy

    drewwy New Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    brisbane
    Members Ride:
    vr 3.8 ute
    So I'm guessing u buy up on tokens. How much per car
     
  19. Boxy

    Boxy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    The MVP you don't, if you own an AD100 pro it uses $50 tokens though. We can do a genuine flip key for around $200, or a non genuine key without buttons but will still start the car for $140.
     
  20. Boxy

    Boxy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Locksmiths can change the locks and give you two brand new genuine keys that will lock out all old ones and start the car, and we can do it on site. So you save money by not towing it, plus a heap off what Holden were going to charge you.

    But hey, I don't know anything apparently - better ask the amazing, all knowing guru Sabbath.
     

Share This Page