Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE lube questions.

Fish Head

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Wagon
Hi Folks.
I'm new to Commodores and have now a ve sportswagon...120,000 km on it.
Bought a manual and it seems the diff oil never gets changed as the manual says ....:sealed for life's ,go figure ? Is this true ?
Also considering a transmission oil change before the 150k mark using Penrite Synthetic ATF,anyone any comments about using this ?
Cheers.
Fishead

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Berlina
Do both. Just make sure it's done properly. Sealed for life just means it will last a fair while until it eventually blows up from lack of maintenance. I replaced my diff oil with the expensive Penrite GL5 Synthetic ( not LSD ) and it's good.

Kingcarl

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Sv6 series II MY 12.5
Do both. Just make sure it's done properly. Sealed for life just means it will last a fair while until it eventually blows up from lack of maintenance. I replaced my diff oil with the expensive Penrite GL5 Synthetic ( not LSD ) and it's good.
What are the benefits of replacing diff oil?
I have thought about doing it but never bothered?
I do trans every 20k and engine oil and filter every 5k, but have not done diff oil in any of my cars.

Fish Head

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Wagon
Thanks Greenacc.
Had a feeling that may have been the case.Will go with the Penrite diff refill too.
Thanks.
Fishhead.

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Berlina
What are the benefits of replacing diff oil?
I have thought about doing it but never bothered?
I do trans every 20k and engine oil and filter every 5k, but have not done diff oil in any of my cars.