Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE S2 IQ Facia

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Looking to double check if the facia for the IQ is ok to swap with another?
Our is playing up a bit.
I know the IQ head unit has to be linked to the car.

Is this link in the headunit or the facia (which unclips from the head unit)?

Ping @TazzI
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
I have a facia with some dodgy volume controls.
I also have a facia with a damaged exterior but the knobs turn nicely.

I have stripped down the damaged facia and the board that control volume and climate are marked with the same codes.

Marked as 321 Variant on the board. Same barcodes as well.

Can I swap that part of the board over without any hassles?
 
Last edited:

Skylarking

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
6,221
Reaction score
4,250
Points
113
Age
120
Location
Downunder
Members Ride
Commodore Motorsport
Don’t know about iQ or VE programming but unless the facia is a separate programable object within Holdens service system, I doubt it’s locked to a specific VIN. And if the facia is common across models and also provides a common feature set, then that would probably support a view that it is not programable.

So, without knowing how much effort it is to remove the facia, maybe just a tug and it pops out, why not simply try swapping the parts and then installing the repaired facia to see if it works?
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Well I’m putting the car back together (slowly-time poor) after doing the evap, heater core, interior panels, brake mod plate, engine bay, inlet manifold.
I’m not keen to fiddle with anything just now because pulling that much wiring out makes me anxious about having everything work ok.

I might leave the exterior trim off so I can pop the facia off ok. If all works it’s easy enough to get that panel off and replace it. Then see if it’s ok. If not I’ll swap back.
 

Attachments

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
So I figured this myself and I'll share what I learnt.

The facias are interchangeable, as far as they aren't matched to the head unit.
No programming required.

My issue. A dead pixel on the screen.
Iffy volume control. Have to turn the knob slowly.

So I got a hold of a spare facia. It had been forced of the headunit. It had screwdriver marks and bent plastic mounts.
I plugged it in (finally got the power sorted to the car) and everything worked.

The screen was good.
All the memory for the stations and settings is stored in the head unit, not the facia. Everything came up the same.

The volume controls and station tuning was cactus on the spare I bought, so an easy answer there. Make do with what I have.

I did swap out the screen. Both circuit boards were marked as the same level, with the same level codes.
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
The screen and its boards are held in by the retaining screws that hold the metal cover. The others you see don’t need to be removed.

There are two tabs you need to release marked with the giant novelty arrows.

Then use a small flat blade to gently lever up the outer boards. Leave them connected.
 

Attachments

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Oh, first unscrew the bottom metal cover. There are two ribbon connectors attached to dont pull it away. Tilt it toward you and it fits into a slot in the upright position. Gently lever off the beige retainer. Super gently as if it were the soul of a unicorn.

Then you can carefully remove the ribbon connector/cable thing. Leave the main board connected if removing the screen only. Other wise repeat the procedure and carefully remove the lower board as well.
That has the HVAC stuff as well as the stereo knobs.
 

Attachments

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,868
Reaction score
5,218
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Slot the ribbon connectors back in ever so gently. Use care, as if you have the trots and need to move swiftly. That kind of care.

Oh and to remove the four screws on the lower board near the knob circuits. 2 each side if you are replacing the hvac controls.
 

Attachments

wetwork65

A wet business
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
908
Reaction score
508
Points
93
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VF SSV Wagon & VF SV6 Wagon
Slot the ribbon connectors back in ever so gently. Use care, as if you have the trots and need to move swiftly. That kind of care.

Oh and to remove the four screws on the lower board near the knob circuits. 2 each side if you are replacing the hvac controls.
Great writeup. Thanks.
 
Top