Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE SS Console, Stereo and AirCon not working ?? Advice or Info

Happydaze

Happydaze
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
184
Reaction score
67
Points
28
Location
GC
Members Ride
VH SLE T30
My 2007 SS VE, the stereo just stopped working, wont even turn on.
And the Air Conditioning, Fan etc are all not working.

Went down to the local Auto Electrician hoping for a quick fix, no luck unfortunately.

He says he has seen this a bit and says it is a Holden software,circuit issue that only
holden can fix as only they have the technology.
If this is a common fault with the VE's maybe they should have a factory recall,
if you cant demist the windscreen you would think that would be a safety issue.

Has anyone else experienced this with their VE?

Any advice or information would be much appreciated, Cheers.

If there is already a thread on this please advise
 

HEXEM

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
827
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
ACT
Members Ride
VE II SV6
Have you check for blown HVAC and radio fuse?

There is a software update for issue with the facia (release a few years ago now). If the facia has crapped its self then it will be expensive. To give you an idea on cost. The facia for an SSV (which has the coloured screen) retails for around $1,100 +/-. For an SS it should be cheaper but still dear.

Check the fuses and check it in with Holden.

Cheers
Phil
 

Happydaze

Happydaze
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
184
Reaction score
67
Points
28
Location
GC
Members Ride
VH SLE T30
thanks mate, it is an SS not SS V, when you mention the facia, is that the whole centre console piece?
The time and date display still works fine but everything below the hazard lights is a no go, like no power
but the air-con is still locked on but cant be turned off as nothing works.

thanks for your reply
 

HEXEM

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
827
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
ACT
Members Ride
VE II SV6
Yeah the facia is the whole centre part where you load your cds in and air controls. You could try disconnecting the battery for about 10mins then reconnect. See if it resets.

The time, date, radio station info is that section at the top of the air vents (big red display). That is the SIC module, it runs seperately to the facia.
 

RiCeY

F O R U M W A R R I O R
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
4,126
Reaction score
467
Points
83
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 430rwhp
Try pulling the facia off completely.

Wrap your fingers up behind the base of it and pull outwards, it just clips in.

Then clip it back into place and see if it comes back to life.
 

Happydaze

Happydaze
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
184
Reaction score
67
Points
28
Location
GC
Members Ride
VH SLE T30
Try pulling the facia off completely.

Wrap your fingers up behind the base of it and pull outwards, it just clips in.

Then clip it back into place and see if it comes back to life.

FAaaaarrkk Me! Bit scary, but popped it out and put it back and what do you know...it works.
Had it booked into Holden on Thursday too, wanted $77 to do a diagnostic test plus the repair
on top of that.
Worst thing is they probably to the same thing and give you a bill for $400.

Thanks heaps man, has made my day :thumbsup:
 

apple8

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
10
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE Berlina
Had a similar problem with intermittent operation, screen going blank ,then operate a few controls or a thump to come ok. Think I may have found the problem. Although the unit is held in via 4 clips, in the Berlina there is a sort of plug coupler for the electrical connection just around behind the "track" button on the left hand side. This does not alway clip in and needs to be firmly pushed in around this area to make a secure connection. Seemed to work for me anyway.
 

ve2007sv6

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
41
Location
Newcastle
Members Ride
Sv6
Hi happydaze, my radio/ac is having the same problems. Just wondering if this fix is still working for you. I've booked my car in to see an auto electrician at the end of the week but he said he hadn't heard of any issues like this before. Hope he can fix it.
 
Top