Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

ve ss temp guage not working

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by livinastro, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. livinastro

    livinastro New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    ve ss ex cop
    Hi just wondering if anyone else has had this problem with there ve ss. The temp guage just stop working today, went into engineering mode and tested dails which are all working fine, coolant temp read 0 degrees but. Aircon seems to have stopped working to.
     
  2. Boonz

    Boonz Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    berri, south australia
    Members Ride:
    green 355 VG ute
    Sounds like you've got a problem with a module locking up the CAN BUS line, need to have the trouble codes checked and work out which ones giving you trouble

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk
     
  3. livinastro

    livinastro New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    ve ss ex cop
    Not to sure what CAN BUS line is, does that just mean they change the codes in computer at holden dealer?
     
  4. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    The Can bus is the data network that all the modules in the car use to communicate. In VE's theres a low speed network for comfort items such as HVAC, Radio etc and a high speed network for engine/ABS/ESP etc.

    It may simply be a failed temp sensor. Ill check out the schematic and get back to you.
     
  5. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    The IPC displays the engine coolant temperature as determined by the engine control module (ECM). The IPC receives a GMLAN message from the ECM indicating the engine coolant temperature. The IPC engine coolant temperature gauge only displays coolant temperatures greater than 60°C. The engine coolant temperature gauge defaults to 60°C or below if:

    • The ECM detects a malfunction in the engine coolant temperature sensor circuit.
    • The IPC detects a loss of GMLAN communications with the ECM.
    • The body control module (BCM) detects a loss of GMLAN communications with the ECM.

    Basically the sensor itself may have failed, or as said above a loss of comms. Need to check DTCs with a scan tool.
     
  6. livinastro

    livinastro New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    ve ss ex cop
    Thanks heaps for the info not under warranty so hope holden doesnt screw me to hard on the fix!
     
  7. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    Any workshop with a scan tool can read the codes.
     
  8. livinastro

    livinastro New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    ve ss ex cop
    Thanks again will post results when i get it fixed :beer chug:
     
  9. livinastro

    livinastro New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    ve ss ex cop
    Well i just had to move my car to let someone out the driveway and the problem seems to have vanished, aircon back to freezing cold and temp guage back to normal service warning gone from dash to.?.?
     
  10. Calais international

    Calais international New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais International
    Hi there,

    Had the same thing happen to my Calais this morning. Have checked all fuses and relays and all seem fine. Im hoping that mine will start in the morning and the problem will be gone.
     
  11. Calais international

    Calais international New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais International
    Hi just for info, my calais had reset its self over night and no problem since.
     
  12. mr031

    mr031 New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    brisbane
    Members Ride:
    vl
    self fixing cars lol
     
  13. zinn

    zinn New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Kingdom of Bahrain
    Members Ride:
    Pontiac GTO & Chevy Lumina SS
    '07 Lumina SS (in Bahrain)...I've been having the same problem off and on for the past couple of weeks. The "Contact Dealer" message displays, then my A/C and temp guage stop working. After driving for a while and (sometimes) after sitting over night it goes away and everything is fine. Had it in the dealer last week and, of course, it wasn't malfunctioning and they didn't know what I was talking about.
     
  14. chriso78

    chriso78 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Ute
    I had the same problem with my 2008 VE ssv ute. At first it came up with contact dealer and service which went away a couple of times but then came back all the time with a check engine light. I bought a coolant temp sensor off eBay for $36 and fitted it. Took 10 mins and problem hasn't come back for over a week now. I disconnected the battery while I did it to reset the codes. I did try disconnecting the battery before hand but the problem came back straight away.
     
  15. JohnnyNa

    JohnnyNa New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Location:
    Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore SS
    Hi,
    Having the same problem as you all.
    Codes are throwing out a faulty temp sensor so had it replaced at a mechanic and it still has not fixed the problem. Had an auto electrician look at it and $200 later he was useless. Can anyone please help me out with this issue, its driving me nuts as i can't even pay to get it fixed.
    Thank you
     
  16. h8tensv6

    h8tensv6 Active Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 SV6 2002 VX 1989 VN 5 Litre
    Holden only charge $120 to plug their Tech2 scanner in and find the problem. Nothing against auto electricians but they are kind of useless when it comes to this type of problem. Been there and done that before.
     
    monstar likes this.
  17. JohnnyNa

    JohnnyNa New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Location:
    Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore SS
    Yea he had no idea, do you think Holdens scanner would be different to the standard mechanic/auto elec scanner?
    Thanks mate
     
  18. Xplaya

    Xplaya Active Member

    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV
    I have to agree. Unless you know a Auto electrician for cheap. Its better to go Holden or a Mechanic with a scan tool that has a bit of knowledge with Holden's.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  19. h8tensv6

    h8tensv6 Active Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 SV6 2002 VX 1989 VN 5 Litre
    It's not the fact that they have different scan tools or not, it's the fact that Holden have seen every possible problem with these cars and know what the problem is 99% of the time and have the know how to repair it. Don't get me wrong here, I am not a fan of Holden dealers as they over charge for most of their work but unless you know an ex Holden mechanic somewhere else, you are limited to where you can go. I have had problems in the past with other holders and spent weeks dicking around with small workshops and paying a fortune and in the end I still had to take it to Holden because the other mechanic could not fix it. So now unless it's a simple job like oil change or brake pads my car goes to Holden.
     
  20. JohnnyNa

    JohnnyNa New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Location:
    Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore SS
    Hi everyone, problem was solved.. ending up being the thermostat.
    Scan tools couldnt pin point it so i went with my gut feeling and changed the thermo so far so good.
    Thanks for everyones advice.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.

Share This Page