Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF Commodore Evoke Wagon with external lighting problems

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by Dewy1098, Mar 26, 2020.

  1. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    I have a VF Commodore Exoke station wagon. I installed a dash cam recently and believe I have damaged a control module in the car.
    The left headlight low beam no longer works, the left front indicator and left front guard indicator no longer work, the rear left tail light no longer works but the stop light does work and the rear right tail light works, but the stop light does not work. All of these problems occurred all at once. The car has been scanned but could not clear the faults.
    My questions are: Does anyone know which control module I might have damaged? Where it is located? and can it be replaced by a 2nd hand unit from a wrecker with out the need to write data to the new (2nd hand) module?
    Thank you for any advise you can provide.
     
  2. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    i would start with checking the fuses
     
    426Cuda likes this.
  3. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    I have checked every fuse in the dash, engine bay and rear fuse panel next to the battery - All OK!
     
  4. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    Exactly what did you do to the car during the install?
    Ie, what did you cut, remove, screw, splice etc and where?
    Have you tried reversing the install to see if it fixes the fault?
     
  5. tommy_z

    tommy_z Active Member

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VFII Director
    ^^ As above, did you uninstall and put it back to factory to check whether it is the dash cam?

    It would be quite unusual for the dash cam to cause those problems as it draws low power and generally people would be using the DOC Connector which has its own fuse.
     
  6. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    The camera is not causing the fault, it is hooked into a blank fuse holder with a fuse extender. I did try removing it but as I suspected it is not the cause of my current/still visible faults. I think I may have shorted out the control module when I was checking for voltages in the dashboard fuse box with a multimeter.
    the only other thing I did was run the rear camera cable through the grommet from the car through to the tail gate. Other than the number plate lights (still working) no other lighting cables are present in this grommet. I have pulled the grommet back and cannot see any damaged cables. Everything in the tailgate system works correctly, ie demister, wiper, reverse camera etc.
    I don’t understand how this has happened, but this is pretty much the whole story.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
  7. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    Where did you earth the camera?
    What trouble codes are present?
     
  8. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,815
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    What are the fault codes?
     
  9. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    I earthed the camera to the chassis where the plastic dash screws to the chassis at the fuse box. It will have nothing to do with the external lighting issues, no other wires are present where I attached the camera earth.
    Unfortunately I don’t know what the codes are, but on the dash I get warning lights to check the brake lights, turn signal, left headlight dipped.
     
  10. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    Are the bulbs blown?
    Swap the bulbs over and check.
     
  11. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    Bulbs are not blown, have replaced some and not made any difference.
     
  12. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    another thing to try, is the battery good/charged?
    if you had the ignition on for an extended time maybe it lost too much charge which causes all sorts of errors to start happening.
    also pop the battery lead off for 10 mins to allow the canbus to reset, maybe a can-h/l wire or swcan wire copped a short.

    the "body control module" controls the lights so if you have fried that you will probably need a dealer or someone with the right programming tools to install a new one.
     
  13. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    What suburb you in ?
     
  14. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    The battery was low on charge when I finished the camera install. I have checked the battery, it was low on water so I have topped it up and then charged the battery.
    I have disconnected the battery twice and left it disconnected for approx 15 minutes each time over a couple of different days. Unfortunately when I reconnected the battery the same faults were still present.
    Thanks for pointing me in the direction of a module, any idea where it is located in the car and if a 2nd hand one from a wrecker could plug straight in?
     
  15. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    I am in Craigieburn, a northern suburb of Melbourne.
     
  16. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    no. The BCM must be programmed to the car.
     
  17. Dewy1098

    Dewy1098 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore Station Wagon
    Damn, thank you for your input!
     
  18. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Sounds like a bad ground connection and feeding back into the BCM,
    Especially being only one side of the lights,
    Check the plugs on the BCM to make sure they are seated correctly,
    Other than that, trace the wiring back to the BCM or light switch and check to see that there is voltage available at the cables.

    I wouldn't think it should cook a ECU/BCM,
    but I guess it all depends how much voltage, and for how long it was injected into the unit.
     
  19. Big Red VF-SII Go-kart

    Big Red VF-SII Go-kart I love puddles.

    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Geelong VIC
    Members Ride:
    VF-SII SV6 (MY017) Sportwagon
    I can speak from experience as the owner of an ex-Services VZ Commodore wagon that came from the North Bendigo CFA in Victoria.
    The car was originally outfiitted with radios, transponders, lights, sirens and other whatnots. This involved "drilling into" the electronics (hard wiring, if you like), and when the car had finished its service with everything de-installed, this had left a cascade sequalae of niggling little problems in the electronics (either/both BCM/ECU) -- everything worked, just not quite as originally set in concrete. Personal communication with the electricians in 2011 who installed and de-installed the auxilliaries advised me "definitely don't do it" in regard to wiring into or modifying anything, be it the fuse panels or splicing to wires. With the VF, I was told to avoid hard wiring (auto electrician that fits out ambulance and police vehicles) and just plug my dashcam into the 12 volt socket, and that is what I have done, along with the second dashcam on the rear window that plugs into the cargo bay 12v socket. No problems, no niggles.

    Occasionally threads come up here about the VZ being well known for ECU and BCM faults. This is incorrect, and most faults will occur when there is deliberate, unguided interference like modifications or "tunes". Other faults will be caused by the inflexibility of the combined and complementary systems to being modified, and this is where specialist electricians can make some leeway, but they will not alleviate all subsequent niggles when de-installing equipment, and that was my experience. Nonetheless, I got 9 years of very enjoyable and very reliable service from that car, all without a single modification to anything.
     
  20. vywgn

    vywgn Active Member

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    1967 Holden HR Premier Wagon / 2015 VFII SV6 Sedan
    Bcm is located in the driver side kick panel
     

Share This Page