Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF Infotainment System

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by lovedores, Sep 28, 2019.

Tags:
  1. lovedores

    lovedores New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina International Wagon 2010 Series II 3.0l
    Hi, I have a 2010 VE Berlina International Sports Wagon and was curious if a later model (prob. VF) infotainment system with android auto and Apple Car Play could be fitted/swapped out to my 2010 model as above.
    I would appreciate any knowledge anyone may be able to provide.
    Cheers,
    Lovedores
     
  2. Z31na

    Z31na Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2013 VF Commodore Evoke
    VF systems dont have carplay or android auto. Some shops have made kits to change out the Series 1 VE head units to Series 2. I know Series 2 added bluetooth but I dont know about USB? Otherwise it’ll be most likely aftermarket
     
    lovedores likes this.
  3. lovedores

    lovedores New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina International Wagon 2010 Series II 3.0l
    Thx Z31na, I have a link to a GM you tube vid showing how to do it, it's probably the 2018 model?
     
  4. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    Pretty much... no.
    You would probably need to make a patch loom for the wiring and then come up with a way to mount the screen, base unit and button module which would all require some custom modification to the dash.

    here is a picture of the 3 parts that are needed for the vf system
    [​IMG]

    also that video you linked mate is not the vf
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2019
    lovedores likes this.
  5. lovedores

    lovedores New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina International Wagon 2010 Series II 3.0l
    I see this is more drama than what would be achieved, many thanks for the info it's much appreciated. I've now got a fault where all my stored CD's are gone. Just before they disappeared I only got a few seconds of loop from CD 1 on track one.
    Maybe time for a replacement stereo?
     
  6. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    165
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    look at envyous customs VE upgrades
     
    lovedores and stooge like this.
  7. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    At this point, the best option is still the Sony, Alpine etc headunits with car play etc.

    To fit to a S2, requires to change the trim panels to a S1 configuration and fit the double din CarPlay units with Alpine HVAC control unit.

    I use both. We have a S1 with an S2 IQ and a VZ with CarPlay. The usability of the VZ far surpasses that of the VE IQ on s2.

    We are quickly learning to avoid the Kayhan units that have recently come onto the market.
     
    lovedores and stooge like this.

Share This Page