Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF MyLink Questions

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by holomatrix, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. holomatrix

    holomatrix Active Member

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VF Redline Sportwagon
    Hi all

    1. Has anyone come back to their car and noticed that the MyLink doesnt start up at the folder/song it was on when you parked? At first I though it was something to do with it sensing the wrong key at unlock... but since I do 95% of the driving (it's a work car) and for the majority of that the other key is nowhere near where the car is (read: at home locked away) then I don't think it's that. I started to keep a list of what song and where in that song the MyLink is when I shut off the car, and then what song and where it starts when I come back and start it up and have found an interesting correlation... 3 trips. Each time I start the car the MyLink is starting at the song (and place IN the song) that it was at when switched off three trips before. Is there a setting I have missed to fix this or is it just a vaguerie of the new MyLink system?

    and

    2. I was told by the salesman that it was possible to stop the MyLink doing that brief showing of each song on the Heads Up display (the pretty thing on the windscreen) however it seems that he was just doing the typical salesman thing of promising something to sell the vehicle whether he knew it could or not - because I cant seem to find a setting for disabling it or a dealer tech who knows how to do it. I love the heads up display but find it entirely unnecessary (and annoying) that the names and details of the songs playing keep coming up on the HUD. Anyone seen anything that makes that go away?


    Other than that, and as a previous VE owner I find the VF experience to be positive. The only other issue I have seen with the car is that whilst the software updates for the Climate Control/Heater and Steering Wheel Sensor have been applied... the steering wheel sensor still seems to throw an error about once every 10-12 days (so the update obviously didn't completely solve the problem - it stopped it from coming up every other day, which is an improvement). I have watched as the steering system was tested and am happy that there isnt a real issue, and the error always clears as soon as the start button is pressed and the steering wheel 'unlocks'. Fuel usage is about the same as my previous VE (I think the so-called fuel saving improvements may only really come into effect on a long highway trip, but the standard around town grind doesn't see any major/noticeable change). oh... and unlike my VE Calais which couldnt ever seem to get the memory seat stuff properly, the VF memory seat system works a treat! (I read somewhere that you could get the driver mirror to dip with the passenger mirror when engaging reverse... can't seem to get that one myself but can see its probably only a software update/tick/setting away)
     
  2. MtnsVF

    MtnsVF New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Location:
    Blue Mtns Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV redline wagon
    I have also noticed this starting at a different point when playing music from the USB key. The "back 3 steps" is interesting - sounds like a simple bit of software error but it is annoying. I am not sure it happens every time and may be related to the time lapse between turn off and turn on. Will have to keep a closer note and see the pattern.

    IF you find that HUD adjustment, let me know. I agree it is annoying. Gee you get used to the HUD quickly - I am in a loaner car right now and no HUD is a pain.
     
  3. Delegatedup

    Delegatedup New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    I'm new to Holden, and 300km into my new Calais VF. I love it. Still working out how to get some of the voice commands working better, but otherwise, I am hugely satisfied. The only one thing that I have been unable to solve, and which is starting to annoy me, is how you Pause and Play a track playing from the iPod/iPhone, and presumably when playing a CD too, although I haven't tried that yet. I note from the Handbook that cars that do not have Sat Nav have a Pause/Play button on the dash, but this is given up to Nav when you have Sat Nav. So if you are playing a track, and you want to temporarily stop play for some reason, and then resume play from where you were, it can't be done. On the steering wheel you can mute the playback, but of course that doesn't stop the track it just mutes it. On the screen you can move to the start or the end of the track, but again, it doesn't solve the problem.

    Is there something I am missing, or is this just a flaw caused by Holden deciding to give up the appropriate button to another function?

    Any guidance from you Holden pros out there would be much appreciated.
     
  4. veessv

    veessv New Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne SE
    Members Ride:
    VF SS, VE SSV
    I havent tried this but you might be able to use the voice command to pause or stop the track
     
  5. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon, Motorsport Auto VE Ute
    Please excuse if I have misunderstood what you are saying about the mylink but the mylink is just showing what is being indicated on your phone. My personal experience with my Calais V is that the song and title displayed on the mylink screen is inconsistent but then I noticed that the song and title were incorrect displayed on the actual phone.
     
  6. Delegatedup

    Delegatedup New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Thanks veessv and zappaboy. I have tried, and failed, to get voice commands to stop or pause play, but in truth, even if it had worked, it would be a really cumbersome way of just bringing play to a halt. There is nothing wrong with the display, the song track information is shown, along with Gracenote information, and a progress bar. You can skip to the beginning or the end using soft buttons on the touch screen. It's just that there is no way at all of stopping play, either temporarily (pause) or fully. So for example if I had been listening to a track on my connected iPhone whilst driving alone, got home and stopped the car, then the following day go out in the car with the family, as soon as I start the car, off goes the track again. What to do? I can't stop the play without handling the iPhone. I can mute it from the steering wheel, or change the Source to a different setting, but I can't stop the bl***y music playing! It's very frustrating, and I just don't understand why Holden have designed it this way, unless it is just about them running out of buttons when you have Sat Nav fitted.
     
  7. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon, Motorsport Auto VE Ute
    Hi Delegatedup,

    You have summed up your problem. You are using an iPhone and the manual explained that it does not work fully with the IOS operating systems. I suspect that the developers have not bothered with an OS as it is in decline. As Android based phones like the HTC, Samsung and later Blackberry phones are based on Android they work generally well with the mylink. As I have discussed in other posts, the mylink is based on the QNX operating system which is what the latest Blackberry phones use which is a version of Android anyway. It would appear your only option is to upgrade your phone from the iPhone to an Android based phone or put up with the issues you are experiencing
     
  8. Delegatedup

    Delegatedup New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    That's an interesting idea. So if you plug an Android phone in to the USB port, and play music from the phone, do playback controls appear on the screen - ie Pause / Stop and Play?
     
  9. RoganJosh

    RoganJosh Active Member

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Holden VF Calais V -V6
    yes you can and also from Steering wheel (scroll forward/back and volume only)
     
  10. numeric

    numeric New Member

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Location:
    south brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE 60th anniversary
    with the vf can you pause the song by pushing the scroll wheel like in the ve
     
  11. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon, Motorsport Auto VE Ute
    An interesting situation I have noticed with the mylink on at least 3 occasions now. I start the car, the mylink shows 104.9 FM but the station actually being broadcast via the speakers is actually 702 AM. I touch the mylink select the correct radio spectrum either FM or AM and system then works OK. Has anyone else experienced anything like this.
     
  12. Delegatedup

    Delegatedup New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Thanks numeric. I had to go off and try this, but on my VF pressing the scroll button switches the Source, so it switches to the next source in sequence. I mentioned the problem in passing to the Holden salesman the other day, but he had no idea how you could Pause and Play! I'm pretty sure I've tried everything, and I just don't think the facility exists. Very strange!
     
  13. jasonjea

    jasonjea New Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Location:
    Sefton
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore SV6 UTE
    Do you guys know when they will update mylink to support ios7 as all my iphones are ios7 and cannot downgrade ip5s and gs4 dose not have support for siri

    Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2
     
  14. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon, Motorsport Auto VE Ute
    The Mylink is not being updated for IOS in the short to medium term as development work for IOS being being wound down in the AV software industry. Most development work is being done for Andriod and the Windows Phone platform. Also as the mylink is QNX based which is an Android based system explains in part why it has only limited support for IOS.
     
  15. cfour

    cfour Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Coming Soon
    Voice commands work with my IP5 and ios7, eg. Making a call naming the person in my contact list, play all foo fighter songs.
     
  16. vkcala

    vkcala Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    VIC
    Members Ride:
    searching for vk
    A problem Ive been having is, when I turn the car off, the last artist that is playing, it wall only shuffle songs from that album, but I have shuffle on all songs.

    So I have to go back into menu to shuffle all songs again.

    Any tips?
     
  17. Black X

    Black X New Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VF SS Redline Ute
    I found this problem as well. You need to set your iPod/iPhone to shuffle all songs and have the shuffle on the myLink as well. If you only have the shuffle on the myLink it will only shuffle songs by that artist.
     
  18. vkcala

    vkcala Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    VIC
    Members Ride:
    searching for vk
    Sweet. Thanks mate
     
  19. jasonjea

    jasonjea New Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Location:
    Sefton
    Members Ride:
    VF Commodore SV6 UTE
    Yeah I know that. Same like s4 but siri dose not work with ios7

    Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2
     
  20. Black X

    Black X New Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VF SS Redline Ute
    Is anyone else having the problem with their Bluetooth unpairing on their Android phone's every Thursday around lunch time?
     

Share This Page