Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF Sat Nav

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by iamandrew, Jan 31, 2017.

  1. [paradox]

    [paradox] Active Member

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV-R
    yeah im not sure what im more annoyed/disappointing about
    i didnt expect there was an update, or im sure it would have been posted somewhere either here or a fb group.

    but last time they told me no updates were available, and i had to give them the service bulletin number before they had a clue.
    and now they tell me there is updates, and i give them the same service bulletin number, and what do you know thats the last one available.

    do they not record this kind of information against a car? i get that its not the service reps fault, but it just makes them look foolish.

    im not sure where they think 3 year updates are of any help to the customer.
     
    abuch47 likes this.
  2. justice4all3000

    justice4all3000 Member

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    im sure this has been answered before but how do you tell what year the map version is?
     
  3. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    You can't tell what year your maps are but you can see the product number for your map data.

    It's the third entry from the bottom, see here

    PS: updated my post since i missunderstood your question ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2019
  4. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    486
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    From previous posts:

    84160883 Version 30.12.10.11 is the 2018 Map Version (reputed to contain 2015 Maps).
     
  5. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    That’s the problem with MyLink maps, 30.12.10.11 is Holdens abstracted product number used by GM system / dealer service. It has no direct relationship to a year that the ‘Holden product’ was released nor any relationship to the year the map data provider actually collated the map data.

    Does anyone know if Holden has any updated 2019 MyLink maps available (likely containing 2016 map data) o_O
     
  6. [paradox]

    [paradox] Active Member

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV-R
    as per my post at the top of the page, i was told they would only release them every 3 years.
    but thats relying on the word of a holden worker who had no idea my current maps were up to date.
     
  7. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    ^ yeah I saw your post but I was hoping for something more authoritative than a inaccurate comment from a nondescript Holden worker :p

    If Holden doesn’t want to support the VF, they should open up MyLink or add AA/ACP as a last update and be done with it.
     
  8. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    If they decide they're not going to support it, they wouldn't expend the time & effort involved in unlocking the system … it'll generate zero sales.
    My understanding WRT AA/ACP is they require hardware which MyLink doesn't have.
     
    lmoengnr likes this.
  9. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    ^ Yeah, that’s the common sentiment, but Holden providing a paid for MyLink feature” update to include AA/ACP can generate future sales though good will between seller and buyer.

    And if bumping QNX from version 4.2 (as I think is used in VF) to version 5.0 (which provides AA/ACP software module) requires any hardware update, then so be it. Simply include it in an upgrade kit. Or better still upgrade to something more modern and open than QNX.

    But dumping regular map updates and effectively orphaning a product is simply burning current customers and such behaviour can kill any good will and the prospect of future sales along with it. So it can’t and shouldn’t all be about making $’s now. Such is simply the myopic GM vision that has resulted in their slow death.

    At the end of the day, if @TazzI can get somewhat down the track to being able to retrofit the newer MyLinks into the VF, then imagine how more effective it would be if he had access to GM/Holdens documentation. I doubt it would take more than one man year which puts development in the $1/$10/$100 per vehicle with a 100%/10%/1% uptake (being that there are 150,000 VF’s out there). So I really doubt it’s as costly as many seem to imply. GM/Holden should just get off their but and just do it.

    Probably it will be @TazzI that solve the problem for us all but I won’t be buying another GM vehicle going forward. I’ve had a belly full of HCC and the dealers already o_O
     
  10. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    I'm just not convinced that people wanting the appliances that Holden now sell would bother or care about whether they could pay $1k for an upgraded MyLink system.
     
  11. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,036
    Likes Received:
    3,435
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    But isn't it all about the gadgets these days ?
     
  12. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    Ill be buying a C8 if I can ever rationally afford it.
     
    426Cuda and lmoengnr like this.
  13. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    Only if already fitted … tinkering/changing the standard car, notsomuch.
     
    lmoengnr and VS 5.0 like this.
  14. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Id love to continue hacking away at the mylinks, my next steps which I was working on was dumping the entire firmware so that I could better understand its structure, and then work out if I can make custom QNX applications to run on the system which is only a matter of paying for the QNX SDK and diving straight in. Could even provide as actual USB updates, since firmware dump would give access to encryption keys needed for update files.

    Anyways, this became irreverent after playing with the newer radio systems which already have carplay and other functionality. This currently is very much a pipe dream as I have no idea how much time is required to make the buttons all work correctly.
     
    Skylarking likes this.
  15. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    Seems to be but not in the way you may think.

    I recently read that with one brand of vehicle, the infortainment system has a gps module that provides the time signal for the rest of the vehicle’s systems. If the infotainment module fails, the car simply won’t start.

    It’s not a huge problem while new parts are readily available, or the knowledge exists in the aftermarket to repair the faulty unit. BUT it will be progressively more expensive as the vehicle gets older (or it gets harder for the aftermarket to develop the knowledge due to lack of information from the manufacturer) to the point of not being repairable. It’s yet a another way to simply make the vehicle completely obsolete in 10 years.

    And as is, you simply can’t by a ‘normal’ car without gadgets these days... So unless you can afford a stripped down race Porsche or something similar (where you pay more to not have things in the vehicle) you’re stuck with gadgets that can result in the car not starting.
     
  16. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,036
    Likes Received:
    3,435
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Well that is crap.

    Built in redundancy suck balls.
     

Share This Page