Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF SS-V Redline (Series 1) - Rough idle and loss of power, no warning lights

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by wagon37, Dec 17, 2019.

  1. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,815
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Pretty sure school holidays has started...
     
    Geoff6666 likes this.
  2. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    exactly why i didnt mention that. you questioned the anonymity. warnings and bans are for private chat not flexing.
     
  3. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    Can we get some photos of the SS-V to W557 conversion? you know how to use a camera?
     
  4. immortality

    immortality No more smoky bacon :( Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,860
    Likes Received:
    2,924
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    I questioned everything he has posted online period!
     
  5. Daniel Souza

    Daniel Souza Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Members Ride:
    VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
    Hi @wagon37

    After you get the OBDIi reader , start monitoring the cylinder misfire PIDs . Check the actual and the history.

    It could give you a clue were to start. Once you know which cylinder has an issue you can start swapping plugs , leads , coils around.

    But first measure the injectors.

    When the injectors impedance on my ls3 we’re out of spec. The rough idle would come and go.
     
  6. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    Cheers for that mate. I was just re-reading your post in another thread about checking the resistance on the injectors. Any tips or tricks there or is it a pretty straight forward task?

    Also did you get any warning lights associated with the rough idle?

    Cheers.
     
    slamNcam likes this.
  7. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    slamNcam has not been forthcoming with a photo of his W557 conversion. Must be busy in the workshop camming a Proton Jumbuck or similar.
     
    slamNcam likes this.
  8. Milo 6.0

    Milo 6.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Location:
    perth
    Members Ride:
    2013 vf ssv wagon/bf xr6 na(daily)
    Wagon 37 who did the work on your wagon?
    440hp at the tyres is a pretty decent number!
    What are the specs of your cam if you dont mind sharing.
    Also what are the specs on your exhaust and intake
    Have you run it at the motorplex yet?
    Sorry for all the questions.
    Not having a go like some im just curious. cheers
     
  9. Daniel Souza

    Daniel Souza Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Members Ride:
    VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
    It is pretty straight forward, unplug the injector connector can be a bit tricky but not that bad .

    I had engine light on once or twice and the code was related to cylinder misfire. But several times the idle was rough and there was no engine light. However the misfire counter was increasing on cylinders 4 and 6 if I remember well. I guess it wasn’t misfiring enough to throw a code.
     
  10. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    Sent you a PM!

    Okay cheers mate. Got an OBD2 reader on it now so will see what it says and report back with any findings.
     
    Milo 6.0 likes this.
  11. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    Which app are you using? Cheers
     
  12. Daniel Souza

    Daniel Souza Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Members Ride:
    VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
    Torque App pro with GM PIDs
     
  13. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    I can't find a "Torque App Pro" in the app store sorry? I don't want to get one that doesn't have GM PIDS.
     
  14. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,815
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Its Torque(free version) or Torque Pro(paid version).
    Not sure if it has been released for Apple, you could try Dash Command.
     
  15. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    Ah okay that's probably why I can't find it. I have one at the moment which is pretty good but I can't see any way of getting the GM PIDs. I'll try Dash Command.

    Cheers.
     
  16. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    ^ torque and torque pro haven’t been released to iOS/ Apple App Store as the author prefers Android only.

    I think there was a non authorised torque pro app on the App Store for a short time but you need something else for your OBD iOS fix :eek:
     
    wagon37 likes this.
  17. wagon37

    wagon37 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SS-V Redline Wagon
    I was looking at this but was a bit dubious about its authenticity so didn't commit to the purchase! thanks for the heads up.
     
  18. Daniel Souza

    Daniel Souza Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Members Ride:
    VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
    I have an iCrap phone as well. It is provided by my work and I got no option. I use an Old Android phone . The Torque app works well even on a Galaxy S2 .

    There is always an old phone around.

    So the old android running the Torque app is my poor’s man Dash . The iPhone is always running Waze to avoid fines due to distractions.
     
  19. Daniel Souza

    Daniel Souza Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Members Ride:
    VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
    Just find an app which allows you to add customs PID .

    The misfire PIDs are attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    Skylarking likes this.
  20. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    @Daniel Souza, missfire PIDs cylinder 1 to cylinder 10? Is this from an audi v10 you have?

    If not much trouble, could you describe custome PID's as such; Are they a plain text files? Can you provide an example of how to write custom PID for missfire cylinder 1? Which apps allow custone PIDs? How one adds a custom PID to the app? Are there websites that discuss writing custom PIDS?
     
    wagon37 likes this.

Share This Page