Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vf ssv 2. ls3 Automatic Transmission issue

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by Jackel, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    Hey guys!
    Ive got a Vf ssv series 2.
    Custom tune and a vcm otr are currently my only mods.
    Each time i start the car and take off reasonably firmly it will rev to 4000-4500rpm then shift holding the second gear for a ages.
    Then i would slow down to a complete stop and take off again resulting in the car to rev properly to 3000rpm then shift and not hold the second gear for ages.
    It will always rev to 4000-4500rpm after every single start and ONLY after every single start.
    Please help! The mechanic says its normal whilst the tuner says it might be a holden software glitch.
    Monstar or whoever knows whats going on i would love to know what is going on.
    The tuner reflashed the stock tune and was still doing the same thing.
    PLEASE HELP!!!
     
  2. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    In previous (non-VF) cars, I would have said that it sounded like a throttle position sensor (TPS) problem. The file below is from the Holden VF service manual and may give you some background. I couldn't find any information on the TPS items themselves.
     

    Attached Files:

    Skylarking likes this.
  3. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
     
  4. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    Thanks for the info!
    Running out of options so will have to take it to a holden service centre.
    Hopefully they can fix the problem and dont do anything silly like erase my custom tune.
     
  5. Happydaze

    Happydaze Happydaze

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    GC
    Members Ride:
    VH SLE T30
    Did that only start happening after it was tuned?
     
  6. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    Its really hard to say because i got it tuned shortly after i bought the car.
    The tuner flashed the stock tune back in and its still doing it.
    Then he flashed back his custom tune again and said its either a holden software glitch or may be normal to clean out the solenoids.
    Either way once i start the car i have to take off like a snail initially so it doesnt rev out to 4000+rpm.
    I know this is not normal cause others
    That own a vf ssv s2 ls3 would be complaining too.
     
  7. Harli

    Harli Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VFII Redline
    Mine does something similar, has done so since new. I have had it for three years now and traveled about 38K. Doesn't do it from a cold start (but then again I take off sedately when engine is cold), only after restarting from warm very shortly after turning the car off. If it is let to sit for a few min it doesn't do it. It happens very rarely for me so I never really worried about it to be honest. Also, I didn't think it was much of a big deal although I do agree that is seems unusual. Car has been perfectly fine and transmission works normally otherwise. I think I remember a couple of other people bringing it up in this forum and also remember seeing it brought up on a HSV forum. I guess not many people turn their car off and then turn it back on and drive within a very short time frame?
     
  8. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    Mine will do it irrespective of whether the engine is cold or warm.
    Straight after every single start.
    Its driving me nuts to be honest.
     
  9. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    Firstly you should wait until the tranny is at least warm as the engine, like 87° before putting your foot down / tasking it with high torque or rpm.
    Is in warmup mode and will respond differently, nobody changes that aspect in a trans tune.
    If wary there is something awry reset the tranny’s shift memory by pulling the battery for a few hours then go through relearn procedure (search “fast adapt relearn”).
    If still acting up I’d have the tuner reflash the trans with exact stock tune.
    Then if still SNAFU some more serious questions for your tuner like what tuning platform was used and is the tune SD / MAFless?
     
    426Cuda and Skylarking like this.
  10. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    Could be the fluid temp sensor or the controller temp sensor reporting error, in the past would have said incorrect torque reporting from ECU to TCM but newer tuning software versions all but eliminated that.
    Relearn shifts, log the TFT and TCM temp for tuner.
     
    Skylarking likes this.
  11. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    I was told by the tuner to disconnect the battery for 10 min and drive around normally for a week before bringing it back to him.
    He then said he cant help and its doing the exact same thing when reflashing the stock tune.
    The rest is a bit too technical for me.
    My mechanic told me that the car learns how i drive and there is nothing much i can do.
    In simple terms if i take the car to the holden service centre and explain whats going on do you guys think they will be able to fix the problem without erasing my custom tune?
    I really dont care about the cost to fix it. I just want it fixed.
     
    rognvald261 likes this.
  12. 07GTS

    07GTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    331
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VEGTS BLOWN E85
    every time tuner makes changes to the shifts/pressures u have to do a relearn or it will act as normal, u can command a 2000kpa shift if u want but if it hasnt learnt to go that high (after a flash) it wont and if it does at the start and u drive very low then it can unlearn it also and shift softer, but u can do something about the adaptive learning if u really need to, if u dont tell holden about custom tune and they update any part of the ecu u will prob loose your tune back to stock
     
  13. Happydaze

    Happydaze Happydaze

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    GC
    Members Ride:
    VH SLE T30
    Maybe speak to another performance shop & get some advice. Dealer would be a last resort unless it’s under warranty.
     
    rognvald261 likes this.
  14. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    In that case sounds like tuner issue.
    Go another tuner, seriously.
     
    07GTS likes this.
  15. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    Ok so.......So for a while when i start the car drive very softly so the car can learn not to shift to 4000rpm.
    If that doesnt work go to another tuner and forget taking it to holden.
    Is that the plan?
     
  16. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    We are progressing here, now believe either the ECU tune is not reporting torque correctly to the trans or temp sensor / fluid levels SNAFU in trans.
    Check trans fluid level and condition is easiest first step.
    That is ok and done the shift relearn properly (baby it on startup), still probs then taking ECU tune back to stock will fix it. Either via Holden else reflashing quality performance tune that reports torque properly.
     
    Skylarking likes this.
  17. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    Ok! In regards to taking the ecu tune back to stock the tuner already did that and was having the same problem. The tuner said he has never seen anything like this before and he is quite reputable with many years of experience.
     
  18. 07GTS

    07GTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    331
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VEGTS BLOWN E85
    may have to do a solenoid oil dump and relearn just encase one has too much pressure or a blockage on restart causing it to hold gear
     
    Skylarking and rognvald261 like this.
  19. Jackel

    Jackel Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Location:
    Oakleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vf ssv 2
    I did have a block injector recently!
    Also each time its a cold start i wont hear any crackle and pop anymore.
    It only crackles and pop after warm start now.
    Can this be related?
     
  20. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    Yes good idea. EFIlive has a self-clean routine that cycles the trans and takes the engine up through different RPM, takes five minutes or so, definitely a good move.
    Holden would have this too of course.
    OP just so you are aware flashing the engine tune back in doesn’t cost you anything except 5 mins of the tuner’s time. The licence is still valid and no reason to pay much more once the issue is resolved.
     
    Skylarking and 07GTS like this.

Share This Page