Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Alano

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Sportwagon SV6
Hi, newbie here! I have a VT commodore pulling a converted 7x5 box trailer. Rear tyre blowout in outback Queensland.: Jack-knifed and rolled over....Insurance write off. Question is: do VF commodores have the same structural/suspension problem as the IRS found on the VTs?? Can i tow up to 1.5T/ Do I need bigger springs? Air bag? WDH? Or is towing with a VF a really bad idea?

gossie

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE International 3.6L
VF will be fine like your VT as long as the tyres are okay.

Why did the VT tyre blow out?
Was it age of tyre.....ie. over 5 years old.
Was it the pressure in it? What was it on?
Was tyre worn or almost worn to the markers?
Was there previous sidewall damage from careless parking against gutters or into pot holes?

Alano

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Sportwagon SV6
Thanks for picking up, gossie. Tyre had 2 years left. Pressure was 36 towing 745kg box trailer. Tyre had good tread left in it when we started out from Adelaide. No sidewall damage at all. Others have said IRS suspension causes inside rears to scrub out (I know that now...). Suspenion experts say VT copied Mercedes IRS and was always going to stuff up towing. Is VF commodore the same??!!

Forg

Reaction score
Members Ride
Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
No the VF suspension is a better design, which controls the angle of the wheel better such that the tyre-surface is closer to parallel to the road.

The VT was much simpler, so as the diff got closer to the ground while the car was going straight ahead, the rear tyres tilted to an angle that leaned more & more on the inside of the tyre.