Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vk 304 alternator

Discussion in 'VB - VK Holden Commodore (1978 - 1985)' started by worked ssv, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. worked ssv

    worked ssv Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    broken hill
    Members Ride:
    ve ssv
    Hay guys
    I'm doing my vk 304 conversion and was just curious to know what a standard Vn alternator will do, what's the max Amps on the unit?
    I plan on running twin thermos I heard a 100amp proflow alternator is the way to go since I'll be running the thermos and also running the a/c and lights/sound system etc
    Are the 100amp alternators physically bigger then standard? Any help would be much appreciated cheers guys
     
  2. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua AWOL!

    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VX SS Auto, VU SS Auto
    i ran twin thermos on a standard 304 alternator with no issues, only thing you might see if the headlights dull for a split second when the fans kick in, but being a VK and how poor the wiring is for the dull headlights you probally wont notice.
     
  3. worked ssv

    worked ssv Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    broken hill
    Members Ride:
    ve ssv
    No worries thanks mate
     
  4. gtrboyy

    gtrboyy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vt ss & lc gtr
    Yeah vn-vs alternator is 80-85 amps..can get 100 or 110 amp version said to be for vs cop cars back in the day,should be holden part number for it or even aftermarket version.

    Check your fuse box 9/10 vk-vl's have melted them or wiring lol.
    Licorice thin earth wires all over the place in wiring harness & crap plugs that age/corrode over time especially wiring for lights.
     
  5. vkberlina

    vkberlina VK Madman

    Messages:
    3,518
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Members Ride:
    VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
    When I built my VK I purchased a 120amp alternator for it and never had a charging issue with it
     
  6. sire01TMK

    sire01TMK Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    DARWIN, NT
    Members Ride:
    84 VK SL 308
    Just run relays for your head lights
     
  7. uglyGMH

    uglyGMH Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    Preston
    Members Ride:
    VH Adayer Sportif

    Relays will only take the load or current away/out of your "Switch" in this case your talking about the head light switch which in almost all cases will go through a relay...

    Anyway its still using the same load on the alternator and battery...
     
  8. Smitty

    Smitty Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Gen-F R8 Tourer wagon, VK Clubbie race car
    .. std VK V8 alternator is 55 amps upgraded to 85 with air (or police pack)

    I run twin thermos and 2 leccy fuel pumps on the race car and use a 1 wire 120 amp.. does a super job :)
     
  9. Smitty

    Smitty Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Gen-F R8 Tourer wagon, VK Clubbie race car
    ... that's a must on VKs, Brock and plod ran them as the wires melted if you didn't use a relay with decent globes :)
     
  10. worked ssv

    worked ssv Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    broken hill
    Members Ride:
    ve ssv
    You are all champions thanks guys
    I will get an upgraded proflow unit I've rang everywhere an nobody can tell me if the physical size is different to standard and if they use the same
    Mounting bracket and hole centres I might just bit the bullet and get one and sort it out when it arrives
     
  11. sire01TMK

    sire01TMK Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    DARWIN, NT
    Members Ride:
    84 VK SL 308
    VK's didn't have head light relays as standard.
     
  12. vkberlina

    vkberlina VK Madman

    Messages:
    3,518
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Members Ride:
    VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
    One of my Vks actually runs a High and low beam relay setup in the fuse box, running factory relay holders and relays, being an 84 model the fuse box has an additional wires in the plug for the headlight harness.
    None of which is documented or in any of my factory manuals. Colors of wires match standardized colors for headlights light and dark green, black for earth.

    It looks like the output for the headlights as been relocated tot he switch on the relay, power feed picked up off the main power wire for the fuse box, output to the headlights linked up to the relay. All using factory pins, sockets holders and relays, no joins or hacks. The car started life as a 1984 NSW Pollution pack EFI 202 Auto SL no AC or PS.

    Scott
     
  13. sire01TMK

    sire01TMK Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    DARWIN, NT
    Members Ride:
    84 VK SL 308
    Very interesting :)
     
  14. sire01TMK

    sire01TMK Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    DARWIN, NT
    Members Ride:
    84 VK SL 308
    Very interesting :)
     
  15. gtrboyy

    gtrboyy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vt ss & lc gtr
    Wish my vk was like that..started as efi 202...now half melted fuse box bypassed fuse holders but all yellow wiring lol

    Where do they get the replacement fuse boxes from?
     
  16. worked ssv

    worked ssv Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    broken hill
    Members Ride:
    ve ssv
    Thanks again guys much appreciated
    Just one more thing does anyone know how I go with the standard v8 fuel tank? Can that tank be used with the efi 5l or is that another thing that has to be changed? Can I just put an inline pump in? Cheers
     
  17. Darren_L

    Darren_L Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VH SS
    you'll either need an EFI tank with a built in swirl pot or an external swirl pot.
    EFI engines don't have a float chamber like a carby, so need a constant fuel flow - hence the need for a swirl pot
     
  18. ari666

    ari666 250,000 hits

    Messages:
    11,829
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1966 impala, R32 GTR
  19. gtrboyy

    gtrboyy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vt ss & lc gtr
    Is proflow parts just like sss crap?
     

Share This Page