Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vk wagon 308 t5 conversation

Snake130

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vk wagon 308
Hi there I'm new to this page had a question I wanted to ask

I have a 85 Vk wagon 308 with a mild cam that has a Aussie 4 speed in it at the moment thinking of putting a 5 speed in I've read falcon t5's work well and line up perfect with the original shifter spot? I'm wondering what model falcon gearbox do I need also what needs to be done to make all this work? I know I'll need a bellhousing to adapt it I have checked Castlemaine rod shop can't seem to find a bellhousing to suit? Also what needs to be done to hook the speedo up? Thanks guys

Lacksballs

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Members Ride
VK Group C Replica, 1995 VR Sedan
The T5 from a VN SS puts the gear lever approx 50-70mm further back compared to the std "Aussie M21" gear lever position. I made up a plate and repositioned the lever forward by that amount & mine is now fine.

fullsizeoutput_3811.jpeg

Depending on if you have a Trimatic or Turbo engine bolt pattern, you will either need a 3rd party bell housing ie Dellows/Castlemaine that will allow the T5 (Tri-matic bolt pattern) to bolt up or if you have a Turbo engine you can use the std Holden VN bell housing.

DSC03220.JPG

My understanding is the T5 from Ford XR8 or Turbo 6 box is a better fit for tunnel & centre console positioning, but you are going to either get the input shaft altered to suit / replaced or find a Ford T5 to Holden bell housing & use a Ford clutch plate?????.