Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vn 5 speed, wont go from 4th to 3rd

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by grothie1978, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. grothie1978

    grothie1978 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Members Ride:
    kitted vn
    heya all

    my 5 speed doesnt like going from 4th to 3rd any ideas?
     
  2. VRSS

    VRSS New Member

    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Radelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Clubsport R8 6-Speed
    change the oil.. happened to a mates one, to go from 4th to 3rd, you had to go down to 2nd then back to 3rd without letting the clutch out
     
  3. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    I got the same prob. Are you sure it would be the oil? Because all my other gears work smooth as. but will not go from 4th to 3rd at all. wont even crunch in or anything. i could snap the gearstick off without it going in gear if i wanted to. But it goes from 2nd to 3rd really smooth. its got me stuffed what wrong. It almost feels like there is a block or something holding it back.
     
  4. HDT_aero

    HDT_aero Banned

    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    manual VN aero
    ive had this problem before and when i pulled the box apart the syncros were stuffed along with one of the gears
     
  5. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    If it was the syncros wouldnt it not go in 3rd gear at all? because it still goes from 2nd to 3rd perfect. and if the syncros were stuffin up. wouldnt you be able to tell if they are going? and not just suddenly go. And i think you can still manage to change the gears without syncros if your at right revs, but there is no way in hell it is going to go from 4th to 3rd.
     
  6. grothie1978

    grothie1978 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Members Ride:
    kitted vn
    yeah same with me on this
    im thinkin it has to be internal for sure
     
  7. Tom_1569

    Tom_1569 Ecotech Power

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Gippsland - VIC
    Members Ride:
    '14 SR5 Pusslux
    try this, trying to get into 3rd... slow down, with the clutch in, and keep trying, going back to 4th everytime it fials to make 3rd, if it eventally goes into 3rd, like mine would only go back into 3rd at under 15k's. I adjusted the clutch cable and fix it perfectly, till it stretched again :bangs:
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2008
  8. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    It only goes from 4th to 3rd if your going so slow it doesnt even read on the speedo. Usually have to be just about completely stopped before it goes in. When im in 4th i dont have to go all the way into 2nd before i go to 3rd. I can go from 4th then sorta into the 2nd gate, then it will slide into 3rd perfect. all other gears are fine.
     
  9. Tom_1569

    Tom_1569 Ecotech Power

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Gippsland - VIC
    Members Ride:
    '14 SR5 Pusslux
    Trying to stay away from the internal of the box at this stage. Hows your shifter? does is have much slop? In neautral will it spring back to its return spot or does it just laze around (hard to explain in words, but hopefulyy you get what i mean) if its the shifter, it shouldnt be to hard to reco yourself, not to sure about the VN boxes though.
     
  10. lgnd3800

    lgnd3800 Banned

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Hampton Park
    Members Ride:
    BUSted VR
    i think it might be you clutch cable cause when i installed my Manual the cable stretched and it wouldnt go into gear properly but with it adjusted again its fine
     
  11. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    How do i adjust the cable on vns? Its worth a try.

    Shifter has no slop or anything. Seems fine to me.
     
  12. caekmaster

    caekmaster New Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    94 VR ACCLAIM

Share This Page