Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VN dash lights + tacho issue

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by timmy_tam, Jul 22, 2006.

  1. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    hey all
    as you know, i fuked up my clsuter
    but figured out what was wrong, the connectors were in the wrong way

    so put them in the right way, but have new problem

    - tacho doesn't work (could be sticky, but i've tried 3!!!! different clusters and none work) my oringinal cluster worked, but doesn't now
    - lights all over the place
    when i have the first orange connector in right way, indicators don't work but immobilsor does
    when i put it in the wrong way, indicators do work but immobilsor doesn't

    i've tried 3 different clusters and still ahve this issue
    any help?
     
  2. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    found out the conenctions at the connector don't work

    how do i fix that?
    because the wires are connected to the loom, and tha'ts connected to god knows what

    what should i do?
     
  3. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    Depends how confident you are about starting to rip the car apart!! It could be as simple as a poor connection or bad earth further into the loom, but you won't know unless you start trying to trace the problem back. The other (possibly expensive) option is an auto electrician.

    Did you alter the connections or add bits to put your new cluster in? If you did I would start by looking at this, as you say it all worked OK beforehand. Also check fuses to see that none are blown. Its a long shot but gotta be worth a try as its easy to check them.
     
  4. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    thanks mate
    an autoelectrican is the last resort, at least until i figure out for myself whta's totally wrong so i won't be wasting time

    could the ecu be wrong here? just because 3 dfiferent clusters do pretty much the same thing? (ie no tacho ?)
     
  5. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    It's a small possibility the ECU could be playing up. You could see if anyone on here has a spare one they could let you try so that you can rule it out. Have you still got the alarm problems?

    I'm not sure if the VN Calais had a Body Control Module, but if it does I would try a different one of these too, as I would have thought that's what controls the functions you've talked about earlier.

    It might be worth putting a shout out to see if you can borrow an ECU and BCM (if your car has a BCM) from someone to check if they make any difference when you change them.
     
  6. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    hey there mate
    thanks for the tip!

    yes, it does have BCM, two in fact (one in drivers side kickpanel, the other behind the passenger side glove box)

    didn't know the BCM could affect the clsuter dash
    i'll see if anyone can help me out, can you? :D
     
  7. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    Unfortunately I don't have many spares yet, but i'll keep my eyes open in the wreckers when I go!

    Just a hunch the BCM could affect it with the cluster you've got (plus your immob. and indicator problems), but i'm not 100%. Thats why i'd try a different one as I guess they just plug in. It's easier than pulling the loom apart looking for bad connections etc!
     
  8. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    thanks man
    i'm really confused
    alot of people state that the VN doesn't have BCM
    which begs the question "WHAT AM I LOOKING AT?"
    i'll get picts tomorrow

    doctor rob reckons it's wiring, so i'll check that out tomorrow too
    will keep up to date with more questions :D
     
  9. HATER VP

    HATER VP Guest

    What clusters did you use to check?
     
  10. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    Yeah, I suppose you could have killed some wiring in behind the cluster. When I tried a VS cluster in mine with the connectors in wrong, it just burnt the PCB on the back of the cluster though. All the other wiring was fine!
     
  11. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    did it still work?

    i put the connectors in wrong, and i smelt something burn inside the cluster
    and now the indicators won't work (don't turn on, or making clicking noise, only hazard works)

    all 3 clusters have the same problem now, even tho i smelt it from one clsuter, i think it's probably wiring, as how can all 3 go when i fuked up one?

    here are some picts of the mess i made, the 'bcm' and the ecu
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2006
  12. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    I'm just looking through the wiring diagrams in the manual to try to see what those modules are. Have you got a repair manual? If not I can scan some wiring diagrams if thats any help.

    I think the module under the steering wheel might be for the trip computer and instruments. You will also have a module for cruise control,one for door locks, one for anti-theft and one for climate control if you've got that.

    The VS cluster didn't work after I fried it! You could see the burnt wires on the back of it. Did your clusters smoke at all? Mine poured smoke out pretty soon after I put it in, so I ripped it out again in about 3 seconds flat.
     
  13. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    heyyy
    yeh, i saw smoke, coming from the back of the cluster

    i've got a gregoy's manual, not much help tho
    if that is the module for trip comp and instruments, could that be fried? could i just need a replacement?
     
  14. mouce

    mouce Physics Geek

    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VN V6 Series 1 Executive Sedan
    Going to ask a fairly strange question...did those clusters actually come out of a VN/VP? Because the ones from VR's onwards need to be rewired to work in the VN otherwise they do smoke.
     
  15. timmy_tam

    timmy_tam New Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN calais 91
    they all worked, well, to a certain extent, but otherwise they still worked
    it wasn't like i put them in and they started to smoke right away
     

Share This Page