Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vn gear box torque converter trouble

NickCook

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Salisbury
Members Ride
Vk
Went to leave work put into drive feels like hand brake was but was all way down car took of slow then started to slip as I gave a little bit realy bad smell came into car smelt like a clutch burning now it delays changing up and down gear no drama putting into gear I no box isn't the best Doesn't clunk not much metal in pan would the torque converter flywheel be f--ked in a pickle On what to do

I fitted new radiator three days ago with trans flush new oil was working better than ever till tonight (Stupid question)
Can new oil cause any drama in a old old original box seems to have made better gear changes since but now slipping bad ??
 
Last edited:

NickCook

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Salisbury
Members Ride
Vk
Where can I find a torque converter at a reasonable price also anyone no how much would cost to put into shop got new box just need converter
 

HarryHoudini

Active Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
493
Reaction score
96
Points
28
Location
Australia
Members Ride
1991 VN Wagon..2012 VE Sportwagon.
It sounds like you need pro advice,best to take it to a Tranny. specialist and get a quote,probaly a $1000+ so not worth it unless the motor is in good nick.Another option is the wreckers that will install a 2nd hand box for around $500.Also worth doing the rear welsh plug if the Tranny comes off.Good Luck.
 

dans_vz

Active Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
925
Reaction score
94
Points
28
Location
Swan Hill
Members Ride
MY16 VFII SSV Redline Manual & MY13 VDJ76 Cruiser
He says he has a new box just needs a converter.
I would look on ebay for a converter.
There is a couple of businesses that sell them through ebay as well as having an actual shop so have a search.
 

YURNXT

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Members Ride
Cortina
Will have a look around cheers
I have a brand new converter that was fitted to my new built box but have no need for it as i put a turbo converter in now.

did about 100'ks before my turbo was fitted and i had bought a new converter...

if you want photos let me know i have it sitting in my garage.

i want $200 plus post as im in melbourne
 

Jxfwsf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
4,852
Reaction score
98
Points
48
Location
Aus
Members Ride
commodore
i'd check the tv cable, only part in the tc that will slip is the lockup clutch and only comes on when cruising.

If the throttle valve cable is not adjusted correctly is will mess with gear shift point and have low line pressure causing slipping.
Is the fluid still a good color or is it burnt now?
 
Top