Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VP Eng-Body loom connectors

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by WreckWren, Oct 10, 2018 at 10:59 AM.

  1. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
    Hi all,

    You know those couple plugs in the engine bay near the driver's strut tower?

    I need to know what those wires do in VP vs. VS. Or just what they do in VP.

    Cheers to anyone with the infos
     
  2. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    562
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
  3. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
  4. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    562
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    Yes it is
     
  5. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
    Beauty cheers mate
     
  6. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
    Ahh I have a small problem, have some unaccounted and different wires.

    On the black eng bay plug with 6 pins, I have (from left to right, top to bottom looking at the output end of the plug):
    GRN-WHT PNK RED
    RED PNK-BLU VIO

    Anyone know what the pink ones are for? I'm getting a constant 12v draw from the top pink one that's running the battery flat.
     
  7. FXST01

    FXST01 The Grey Man

    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VP V6 Exec
    Photo?
     
  8. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,619
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Pinks are normally switched ignition feeds
     
  9. wildfiremaint

    wildfiremaint Active Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VR SS , '96 Subaru Liberty
    Faulty alarm thats trying to
    constantly charge its internal battery ?
     
  10. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
    Here are some images.

    First two are the car loom end

    Second two are the eng loom end

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. FXST01

    FXST01 The Grey Man

    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VP V6 Exec
    Is this any help?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
    Sadly only minimal help, I have the Gregory's manual for these cars but unfortunately it only shows where wires terminate - not which connectors they pass through on the way, generally speaking.

    I managed to get the full cluster working thanks to old mate's Calaisturbo link above, but still getting that 12v draw on a few of the wires in the plugs near the driver's strut tower.

    At this point I'd already have a battery disconnect installed if the ECU didn't keep forgetting its tune between runs :( Car runs like a turd for the first minute or two of driving, then it's awesome with just a slightly high idle.
     
  13. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,619
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    One pink will be dfi switched ignition power other will be ecu switched ignition to turn it on if its vn
     
  14. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,619
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    One red is constant power to ecu one power to injectors could be orange too they changed the colours up between models
     
  15. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    562
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    I did have it all written down somewhere. I'll post it back here if i can find it. Remember with the VS there is a connector inside the vehicle near the ECU too for constant ECU power, pwr button, trip computer signal, CEL and BCM/aldl data signal.

    From what I remember for VS engine bay connectors off the top of my head:
    -two green wires are A/C related - one is AC request and the other is AC signal
    -brown is tacho signal
    -pink is auto trans ignition +
    -red is EFI relay - + to ignition and injectors
    -blue is oil pressure signal
    -purple is fuel pump relay signal
     
  16. WreckWren

    WreckWren New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Ecotec/Getrag Swap
    Aha cheers, the shell is a VP.

    OK so if I leave that red for the PCM power always connected but DC the rest it should retain the tune? I'm guessing the **** running just after starting it is caused by the tune being reset but could be something I'm not aware of.

    Considering running that wire straight down to the battery and hooking everything else up to the disconnect switch.

    Ah legend, so you're referring to the little white plug on the engine loom just near the PCM? I actually don't have that hooked up to anything at the moment, so this could explain why the PCM is dropping tunes when turned off. I spose if I find that constant power wire for the flash memory in the PCM, the ****-running-at-start will be fixed?

    Thanks to this thread I now have a working tacho and a smooth running car, just gotta get that idle down and get it to retain the tune then I can work out the rest alone.

    Thanks again for the help fellas, life savers.
     

Share This Page