Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vp idle problems v6 need help asap

vg ute v6

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Members Ride
vg ute v6 5 speed
i brought a vp v6 is 5 speed was auto but was changed before i got it.

it idles really low without a tacho i'd guess 300-400rpm. will usually stall.
drives well but may have a tiny little miss if at all.
it was throwing engine light code 22 and 35
35 being idle speed error and 22 being throttle position low voltage.
but after two days fiddling it hasnt put either on
i have replace throttle body twice off two different cars
new plugs
new leads
new fuel filter and fresh fuel.
new clutch as it was ####ed before i brought it.
swapped map sensor with my manual ute
tried different coil packs
tried with and without air filter.
took one injector off at time to eliminate one cylinder but all seem to be firing.

i'm open to any suggestions or help will even leave my mobile i'm that desparate lol
0406229188
thanks justin
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,273
Reaction score
469
Points
83
Age
69
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
The IAC valve (Idle Air Control) controls the idle, so I would be checking that out.
 

vg ute v6

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Members Ride
vg ute v6 5 speed
thanks accentstencil but hey are on the throttle body that has had 3 swap overs so far also to update i just tried two different computers in it and a coolant temp sensor out of a running car
any other ideas will try anthing
 

zskinner

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
290
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
WN CalaisV 6.0L
hey mate, the computers you tried were they all from auto's by any chance? cos i believe you shouldnt have an ecu made for an auto in a manual car (you may need an ecu designed for a manual transmission), or maybe its the memcal im thinking of...... maybe someone can confirm whether its ecu or memcal...... or both......
 

v8thunder

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
gold coast
Members Ride
vk wagon
VN VP ecus are the same auto or manual as auto controlled by kick down cable not electronic. Make sure there is no vacumm leaks, IAC is general prob usually clog up with carbon (can of carby cleaner will fix that)
 

zskinner

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
290
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
WN CalaisV 6.0L
true true, must me memcals then, not ecu's. so have you tried using a memcal for a manual transmission mate? they're different cos autos have different settings particularly for idle which has alot to do with autos having a torque converter and manuals not....
 
Top