Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VR 5.0L V8 fuel issues

adamR

Reaction score
Members Ride
1994 VR 5.0L
Greetings,

i'm a noob to this forum, so before i pick your guys brains introductions are in order :D

my name is adam from rotorua nz, i have a number of cars, but my fav is my vr....... i also have a wrx-ra, and an fto.

my VR is a v8 conversion,.. was a v6 executive and had a 304ci efi put in by the previous owner...i never had a single issue with it....heaps of power, pulls all day, hills no issue, no smoke, oil or water leaks... but when it came time to get a new warrant of fitness it failed because the custom external fuel pump was not legal. they said it had to be removed...so i had it removed...replaced with another VR fuel pump.

i took the car to a mechanic who put a (used) fuel pump in it. it worked well for 60 kms, however, the car slowly ran out of power....to the point where all it did was crawl home and splutter. i returned to car to the mechanic who put another (used) fuel pump in..... that worked, but again only for 60 or so kms, before it started to lose power and crawl, misfire,......

aaarrrrgh!!!!!

i am only guessing, but would i need to replace the fuel pump with another custom one? my thoughts are the car is calling for more petrol then the standard pump can handle...???? i guess that, because the only thing i did was change from a custom pump to a stock one...... does this sound like the issue? i hope so.....

here come my questions...what should i do???? the obvious thing would be to put another big custom pump on it....perhaps change the fuel filters? check ignition leads, plugs and distributor ? would it be starving for gas because a standard pump is being over worked? why would the car blow more pumps?....