Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vr 5l temp doin my head in

Matty o

Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
Moree
Members Ride
01 VU SS UTE
hey all been a while since ive been on but now i have a question about my 5l.
wen i bought it it had a v6 cluster in it n it ran about the line above a quater
on the guage then would creep up to bout half then found out the clutch fan has
packed it in. so any way we locked the clutch up so its direct driven to keep it
cool till i get one next week and put the v8 cluster back in just coz its ment to
be there. any now with the v8 cluster back in it sits on half or just over
and doesnt move even on the highway at speed so we then replace the thermostat n
no different. could this be the cluster playing up or the fan issue/
theres no leaks any where n also the tacho sits at 200rpm
at idle which makes me think the cluster. any help would be appreciated
sorry but the story but im tryin to write this on an iphone lol
thanks again...
 

SENNY

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
141
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Adelaide,South
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator LS1
200rpm at idle??? it should be sitting around 750-1000rpm at idle probs the cluster
 

Matty o

Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
Moree
Members Ride
01 VU SS UTE
yea i knew it was low but just with the symptoms i thought it could be
 

Matty o

Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
Moree
Members Ride
01 VU SS UTE
will the v6 do the same job or are they differently calibrated
 

BottleFedVS

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
338
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Around WA
Members Ride
VS Calais 5.0L & 80 Series Landcruiser
the main diffrerence would be the V8 tach. every thing else should be the same as the V6.
I've got a V6 cluster in my VS Calais atm. I'm needing to change the tach or the whole cluster depends whats available here in wa:surprise:
 

Krisp

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
539
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
32
Location
perth
Members Ride
D22 St-r Navara
the main diffrerence would be the V8 tach. every thing else should be the same as the V6.
I've got a V6 cluster in my VS Calais atm. I'm needing to change the tach or the whole cluster depends whats available here in wa:surprise:
i might have a v8 tach here sumwhere
 

Matty o

Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
Moree
Members Ride
01 VU SS UTE
i cant work out y im gettin two different readings between the 2 clusters
 

VrWagz1

The Wagon on Wheels..
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
2,438
Reaction score
29
Points
48
Location
wollongong
Website
www.wagzhome.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
VE SSV MY09 Auto Wagon
By the sounds of it, you have 2 shagged/incorrect clusters. I would shout yourself a new one off ebay. They are fairly cheap. I have played with clusters before. I have 2 half ones here and a vn/p one from the l3 conversion i did. They are finiky things.
 

Matty o

Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
Moree
Members Ride
01 VU SS UTE
yea i mite have to. wot is the sensor underneath the throttle
body that has the single green wire coz i found it not hooked up?????
 
Top