Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VR Dash Loom help

JTR007

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
106
Reaction score
5
Points
18
Age
28
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
VN BT1 Commodore, VS Ute SII
G'day, i want to know is there a difference in between v6 and a v8 dash loom in the vr's?

I'm waiting to do a dash conversion in my vn which is a v8, and I've heard the just used vr dashloom and plugged it in worked no problem.
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
58
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
Only loom that is different than standard is the SS dash loom, it's missing 2 heavy gauge wires from the length of the loom (old lock pair I think) and has the spot light plug in it.

V6 and V8 VR dash looms are the same.
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
58
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
Is this the same with vs I gather.?

Thanks to for the fast reply.

The VR VS Executive dash loom can be used as the wires all go to the same place. The only notable change between the VR and VS dash loom was the air bag warning lamp.

You have: (my reading on the dash looms)

L1 dash loom - no speed alert plug
L2 dash loom with speed alert plug (plus the SS in this group)
L3 dash loom with climate control and 4th plug
L4 dash loom CC + spot light plug
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
58
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
great thanks! clears it up.

one last thing, does that mean i also have to upgrade to a vr/vs cluster too?

Yep if you put your VN cluster in without changing the dash wire config you will most likely get smoke. To keep the VN cluster you will need to make the pin out match the VR wire config.

All your VN gauges can be put into a VR cluster to keep the VN cluster look if you like. But VR gauges are much smoother in the way they work. (I've probably converted more than 50 VN/VP clusters to have VR/VS gauge sets in them over the years.)
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
58
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
alright sweet, cause i have a dash loom lined up out of a VS berlina which a v6. I'd have to source a lvl 3 v8 cluster in stead yea?

If you use a L3 dash loom you will need to sort the head light switch and a/c as the L3 loom is different to the Executive loom.

It may be better to graft in the L3 4th plug for the L3 cluster to a L2 Excutive dash loom.
 

JTR007

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
106
Reaction score
5
Points
18
Age
28
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
VN BT1 Commodore, VS Ute SII
Ok, went back to scf for more reading to make sure that I didn't forget something.
Apparently they used the body loom out of the vr, but kept original ecu and and engineloom. I gguess I'll have to try through trial and error.

Turns out the vs is a acclaim not Berlina. Are they equivalent to a executive?
Cause I'm also in the progress of a electronic windows install.

Cheers
 
Last edited:
Top