Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vr v6 to v8 motor swap help!!!

hawkinsluke1989

Reaction score
Members Ride
holden commodore vr ss BT1
hey how are you all goin im new to this so be kind hahaha
heres the story ok so i bought a vr BT1 for $3000 witch had the 3.8l in it its a real nice car its the one in my dp anyway
i wanted to put the 5.0L injected motor the 304 as my mate got a whole vr ss in at work running he works at the wreckers it had a 161,000km
so i got the complete car for $1500 i took everything i need out for the converstion like the k frame,ecu,bcm,exhaust,radiator,computer,gear box,dash cluster,the engine loom,the whole body loom aswell just to be on the safe side how i did it unbolted the struts and k frame and what not and lifted the car up and wheeled the motor out i did the same to the v6 ok so now its all in the BT1 i was told i didnt need to change the loom that went thought the fire wall but i did anyways
just so it was all v8 ihave power my dash lights come up and everything but when i turn to start i get nothing like as if it was in gear (its auto by the way) so i changed the ignition barrel over as well still nothing i have power to starter motor fuse box to alternator even power to coil but it want start wont even crank pulled starter out check working line have fuel but it just wont crank over please help im getting very frustrated :ranting:

Last edited by a moderator:

Andrew426

Reaction score
Members Ride
VP calais, VR Berlina, VJ valiant, BG5 legacy
Have a look at your loom in your passengers footwell, about 20cm up the loom from the computer. Is there a spare connector there?

hawkinsluke1989

Reaction score
Members Ride