Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vr wagon stuck i first gear

cartwright

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
30
Location
alice springs
Members Ride
vr wagon
Hey ive got a vr wagon that only drives in first gear, i read through lots of threads and people were saying it could be the tps (throttle position sensor) which i was hoping it was but i checked the error codes and its 12 which means everything is fine, so im pretty confused bout what it is??

Any help will be appreciated! Thanks
 

deanos70

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
414
Reaction score
5
Points
18
have you checked your transmission fluid level

when was the last time you had the filter in the gear box changed
 

cartwright

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
30
Location
alice springs
Members Ride
vr wagon
Hey yeah i have checked it, it was abit low but i filled her up and didnt do much difference! i dont know if it has been changed, only had the car for 3 months
 

D3V14NT

Likes Shiny Things
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
185
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Geelong, Vic
Members Ride
93 VP BT1 V6
assuming it's an auto? Does it go into reverse and will it shift into 2nd if the shift lever is placed in second or is it always first no matter what the selection? Have you tried going as fast as you can in first to see if it'll skip second and shift into third? Might be a problem with the 2-4 band slipping and not engaging 2nd.

A service wouldn't go astray but if you can't shift gears at all I can't see it resolving that. You didn't overfill it with fluid at all? If you can borrow a tps from a mates car give that a go and see what happens. Apart from that check the electrical plug to the trans to make sure it's connected correctly and hasn't come loose. Is your speedo working correctly as a dodgy Vehicle Speed Sensor can cause problems with shifting too.

If none of that does the job I'd recommend taking it to a transmission specialist who'll have a much easier time of diagnosing the problem.

If none of
 

Paintabruh

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
71
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
29
Location
campbelltown
Members Ride
VR commodore acclaim V6
ule need a new transmission prob urs is worse then what mine was i could get to second then accelerate her to get to 3rd but after nerrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...
 

justbad4you

IF YOR NOT A HOLDEN
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
1,669
Reaction score
19
Points
0
Location
MELBOURNE S/E BAYSIDE
Members Ride
97 VT BERLINA/ 98 VS SIII MALOO (RED) LX SLR5000
Hey ive got a vr wagon that only drives in first gear, i read through lots of threads and people were saying it could be the tps (throttle position sensor) which i was hoping it was but i checked the error codes and its 12 which means everything is fine, so im pretty confused bout what it is??

Any help will be appreciated! Thanks
sounds like its time for a
new transmission ? hope im wrong
 

deanos70

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
414
Reaction score
5
Points
18
mate if your taking the old box out
now would be a good time to replace the rear main seal if its leaking, they are only about $30
and also get a new rear seal for the transmission where the tails shaft goes in they are only a few $$$$
 
Top