Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vs commodore help

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by Drew grant, Dec 30, 2019.

  1. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    Hi can anyone help got a vs Ute a few months ago it misses at idle and when driving have replaced plugs leads coils fuel injectors MAF and jus did engine swap and still runs like crap im stumped
     
  2. ephect

    ephect Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim V6
    Check error codes to see what's logged. Missing from your list, is DFI module, and fuel pressure regulator. Worse could be lower intake manifold gaskets, rocker bolts loose, wiring..

    Has the symptoms been there since you've bought it or has it recently developed?

    Has the Ute been looked after, how many KMs?
     
  3. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,604
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Would also be looking at earthing points (particularly block and ECU to chassis) and vacuum leaks. Would also be looking at the loom to make sure it hasn't rubbed through anywhere and is shorting out or letting moisture in. Does it miss at random or does it do it at the same point on every rotation?

    Super unlikely, but it could be a dicky ECU output. Luckily swapping the ECU isn't an issue.
     
  4. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    I feel this would more than likely be a coil pack issue.
     
  5. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
  6. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    It’s not cool packs I have had 2 different sets on there
     
  7. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    Sorry yes I have replaced the DFI I how ever have not replaced the fuel reg on the fuel rail the old motor had done nilly 400,000 the new motor has only done 200,000 the Ute has been looked after it used to be and older guys Ute it had a miss when I first got it but i fixes that with coil packs but this miss has got worse over last 2 weeks that’s why the engine change but still the same
     
  8. ephect

    ephect Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim V6
    New engine with original elec? Alt, coils, leads and sensors? Or full replacement.

    If total replacement than possibly loom and earth points
     
  9. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    New engine old manifold old alt new coils plugs and lead and used 2 sensors under the motor one on either side off old motor
     
  10. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,293
    Likes Received:
    887
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Fuel pump, blockage in the fuel line or oxygen sensors. Clean the throttle body just for good measure too.
     
  11. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    Already clean throttle body change the idle sensor and throttle position sensor new fuel filter was wondering whether to charge oxygen sensors
     
  12. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,293
    Likes Received:
    887
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Oxygen sensors only last 200,000 ks so if yours have done 400 they'll likely be stuffed. But don't buy crap ones. Bosch or AFI would be good.
    And only need to do the front oxygen sensor. The back wouldn't effect idle. Does it have good power full throttle?
     
  13. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    Yes it goes really hard if I open it right up
     
  14. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    Sorry, Front and rear ??

    there are only two sensors, one on each bank of cylinders about 8 inches down from the exhaust manifold flange in the engine pipe section.

    There is is no rear sensor whatsoever.
     
  15. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    Yeah I know the ones
     
  16. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,293
    Likes Received:
    887
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Ah ok they'll be the ones. The VE has another 2 oxygen sensors after the cats which are there to monitor the function of the catalytic converters but don't control fuel ratios. I couldn't remember how many the VS have.
     
  17. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    VE ~F's are a tad more advanced I'd say. VS's are still pretty basic EFI units compared to what been built later. This is what makes them far easier to work on IMHO.

    Cheers.
     
  18. Drew grant

    Drew grant New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    Woori yallock
    Members Ride:
    Vs Ute
    Thanks for all your help got it running awesome now burnt out o2 sensors and new fuel pump going to get a new fuel reg for it as well tho
     
    losh1971 likes this.
  19. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,413
    Likes Received:
    2,197
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Good luck, these are pretty much impossible to find for a VS V6.
     
  20. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    I'm sure UPI have them by the crate load.
     
    Drew grant and losh1971 like this.

Share This Page