Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VS Electrical problems after HU install

bigfluff

Reaction score
Hello all

I have recently had a head unit installed by a mate of mine he is an electronics techinician by trade so has an excelllent knowledge of audio systems but not a whole heap about exact car wiring.

He has done a wicked job of my stereo install but after he installed the deck my dash lights no longer work i have checked all my fuses and found that one 5A fuse keeps blowing.

I know that he did not add any wiring into the car he hooked the system up using only the cables that the original deck used. Can anyone out there pls provide me with some information as to what may have gone wrong.

If its any help at the end of the install there was one wire left over in the original stereo plug that wasnt needed dont know if this has anything to do with my problem

regards

mike :)

markovr

Reaction score
Website
youtu.be
Members Ride
07vessv 94vr .04vz wgn,93vp wgn,82 vhV6 wgn 88 vn
There's a wire on the radio connector that has a light feed on it ......maybe he has mistakenly earthed this wire (brown/white) instead of the black/white that should have been earthed.

Attachments

• radio vr.jpg
    radio vr.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 1,768

gsmrobinson

Reaction score
The reason the fuse keeps blowing is because he has connected your stereo to earth via the park light circuit!!!!!

When your lights are off you will get an earth via this wire because it can backfeed via the bulbs to earth. When you turn the park lights on this earth then turns into a power feed and if its connected to the stereo as an earth it will earth via the stero's wiring and cause a short.