Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vs ute soundsystem advice

Fizzman

Fizzman
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Commodore Ute series III 1999 v6
hey guys i just bought a 12 inch sub box made out of fibre glass to put underneath my vs ute tray.
so all thats left to do now is to buy a 12inch sub,2 amp and a good pair of 6inch splits.

what sub should i go for that is 12 inch and good quality the cheaper the better honestly lol im an apprentice. .

and what amp should i get with how many channels and watt rating.

i really want a good pair of 6 inch splits with tweeters

any advice/opinions would be greatly appreciated.

p.s would it be worth dynamatting doors trims and cavity were sub will sit in the tray?

Uber_Flacky

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR 5.0 ltr Ute
Spend the money on the splits the first time so you dont have to get better ones down the road. Get an amp to run the splits and a monoblock to run the sub, get a amp that has the right RMS output for the sub, and make sure the sub isnt too deep for the box as some of them are. Dynamatting is good, highly recommended around here, I havent but will eventually. When you get into it all the little things make a big difference.

Fizzman

Fizzman
Reaction score
Members Ride
ok sweet what rms should i be looking for splits.
and also do both amps have to be bridgeable
what do i need to know about hooking them both up together
thanks.

Uber_Flacky

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR 5.0 ltr Ute