Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VS V6 scan done along with fault codes

pete30nz

Active Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
417
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
41
Location
Christchurch, NewZealand
Members Ride
1994 Vr berlina 3.8 v6 , 1996 VS executive 3.8 v6
Hi people,
I finally got around to scanning the computer with a scan tool.
I'll post photos and you can see what I found.
There were faults with engine running, and some with engine not running. But I haven't kept all those photos. But I do have live data photos, as in with the car running and screen shots.
Photos posted so far are just error codes logged.

Now are any of these to be there at all normally?
Or should there be none.

Pete
 

Attachments

_R_J_K_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
5,837
Reaction score
1,155
Points
113
Members Ride
Zenki S14
No, none of them should be there, seems like you have all of the problems. The only code that should appear by default is 12 (nothing wrong).

Clear the codes by disconnecting the battery for a few minutes and see if they reappear after you start it. Since there seem to be a lot of voltage and signal codes I'd start first by looking at the engine loom to see if it has freyed through somewhere, also check all your earths are attached properly.
 

BlackVXGTS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
4,413
Reaction score
1,131
Points
113
Location
Melbourne, SE
Members Ride
GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
Do you have any warning lights on the dash (other than the engine light)? You may have an alternator (or voltage regulator) problem.

Also, code 12 doesn't mean that there isn't a problem. It means that the engine is not running.
 

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
12,821
Reaction score
6,088
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
Lean under load is probably a fault with the 02 sensor. Pop in new ones that should correct it unless its the cable issue that a VS Dores seem to have.
 
Last edited:

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
12,821
Reaction score
6,088
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
TCC fault is probably an issue with the valve body. The TCC solenoid rarely plays up.
 

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
12,821
Reaction score
6,088
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
The crank sensor code could be an intermittent fault. Crank sensors can go for months and only play up from time to time.
 

pete30nz

Active Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
417
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
41
Location
Christchurch, NewZealand
Members Ride
1994 Vr berlina 3.8 v6 , 1996 VS executive 3.8 v6
Hey,
I've just disconnected the positive battery lead for a good few minutes, just connecting it now.
Will go check to see codes again shortly if my friend is home.
I've had a look at the Earth's bolt beside battery, all look good and it is tight.

Haven't adjusted sensor(s) yet, or looked at them.

Pete
 

pete30nz

Active Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
417
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
41
Location
Christchurch, NewZealand
Members Ride
1994 Vr berlina 3.8 v6 , 1996 VS executive 3.8 v6
Lean under load is probably a fault with the 02 sensor. Pop in new ones that should correct it unless its the cable issue that a VS Dores seem to have.
Good evening, I change over to new oxygen sensors today, reset the ECU by disconnecting battery positive while I changed the oxy sensors.
Had the scan tool connected after this, and still have error codes coming up..
I'll have to put up photo shortly.

Pete
 

pete30nz

Active Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
417
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
41
Location
Christchurch, NewZealand
Members Ride
1994 Vr berlina 3.8 v6 , 1996 VS executive 3.8 v6
These are the flight record with car idling photos.
Using the data on the screen, I tried to set the tps to different locations.
When set to hard left it was at 0.4volts and about 800 to 900 rpms and 0 degrees angle. When set to hard right, it was at 0.6volts and about 1150 rpms, about 2.0 degrees angle.
(If this means any thing at all)

Cheers
Pete
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top