Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VS v8 5 Litre Oil pressure issues Sump Removal?

joely1991

Reaction score
Members Ride
vn calais 5speed
I've searched high and low for answers regarding my problem, and have found nothing specific, so sorry if there is already a thread covering this..

Basically having Oil Problems with a VS '96 Caprice V8. One day while driving, after about half hour of driving had the Oil pressure light come on and the engine was very tappy. We have changed the pump and still hasn't solved the issue of no pressure, and the old pump looked fine to me anyways (im no expert though). So we continued to search for other causes, such as the relief spring, seems fine.. the drive shaft for the oil pump in the engine is still in tact. Even after running the engine for a minute or so, and then removing the oil cap, i can see no oil is reaching the top of the engine...

So we have come to the conclusion that there must be a problem with the oil pickup or sludge build up. Now with limited automotive knowledge, I don't know the steps in taking a sump of one of these engines. After Reading some threads im led to believe that ill have to atleast lift the engine to get it off.
Can anyone give me a list of steps and out of the ordinary tools ill require?
or is there something else i should be checking first before goign down the path of the oil pickup.

Also I should add that this loss of oil pressure came about a week after doing an oil and filter change. The oil is Castrol GTX 20W-50 and the filter is a ryco
Another thing to note is that we dont seem to be losing any oil, so I don't think the oil is escaping somewhere in the engine.

If any one could shed some light in the situation, it'd really be appreciated

GRPABT1

Jakstas' Warden
Reaction score
Members Ride
VN shitta