Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VT-VX] VS - VY Series 2 Inlet Manifold Gasket Replacement 6hr+ (Includes Pics)

Hot-Rod

SuPaFlY -LiV3 Surviv3 Di3
Reaction score
Website
forums.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
VX Commodore Series 2
I am not a mechanic. Please only use this as a Guide. Take all necessary precautions when working on your car including gloves and eye wear protection. I undertook this repair with the help of a Gregorys Mechanic Book and generalised knowledge of my Ecotec Motor and components. If I could do it I am sure most others could as well. The repair by myself took a hard 6 hours of work. If you can't spare at least a day then I would leave this to a mechanic.

Things you will need:

Engine Oil, Oil flush (approx $35 bucks)
Coolant, coolant flush, new radiator cap (approx $50 bucks as I use genuine Castrol Coolant)
Thermostat, Thermostat Gasket (Ecotec Motor Tridon TTG46) (approx $24 bucks)
New Inlet Manifold Gasket Set, Instant Gasket Sealant RTV or equivalent (approx $140 bucks as I used a lifetime gasket set aluminium one)
A good set of Screw Drivers and Ratchets, a rubber mallet, Fuel Disconnect Tool
Turps/Petrol, Razor Blade tool

MONEY SAVED

I would guess this job would cost 4 hours labour in a mechanics shop, the current going rate is about $100 bucks an hour. Plus your guaranteed a mechanic would be using cheap coolant, oils, the cheap plastic gasket set, not quality products like I have used. So assuming this the mechanics price would be around $500 - $600 bucks, could be wrong though maybe someone can assist with this. So easily I've saved $200 - $300 bucks doing it myself and now I've got more of an understanding of my engine from doing it.

Step 1