Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VT commodore v6

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Colin.J, Jul 14, 2018.

  1. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    I am trying to put cruise control in my commodore it has the wiring there for it, I have put in the module, the stick, the brake switch, I still need to put in the clutch switch. When ever I try to turn it on it won’t turn on the lights don’t illuminate on the dash. Anyone know what I am missing.
     
  2. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Have you checked the fuse?
     
  3. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    No is it a fuse or relay
     
  4. Lex

    Lex Active Member

    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Have you put the light globes in the cluster (dash) for cruise & active?
    Also there is a cable from the cruise module to the throttle body. Have you added that?
    Your car is manual? You mentioned a clutch switch that you haven't put in.
    When you have everything put in, try testing it then.
    Post back with your results.
    This is an easy mod. I did this for my car, vt v6 auto 5 years ago.
     
  5. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    Haven’t done the bulbs for the dash do you know what I need so I can get them before taking apart.
     
  6. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    Also do you know how to wire the clutch switch as I can’t find wires for it, everything else has plugged straight in but the clutch switch, would I just tap into the brake?
     
  7. Lex

    Lex Active Member

    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
  8. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    What bulbs would I need to put in the cluster for the cruise and active lights to work, would I need just normal cluster bulbs or different
     
  9. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    What bulbs do I need for it just normal cluster bulbs?
     
  10. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Just normal cluster bulbs. They may or may not be missing.
     
  11. VT&VX

    VT&VX Active Member

    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Acclaim
    can mods change the title of this thread from this generic "VT commodore v6"
    to something specific to the question.

    We added a cruise to the VT, everything plugged in, I don't even remember having an issue like this.
     
  12. El_Freddo

    El_Freddo New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Shepparton, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT
    To test the instrument cluster bulbs, hold the "mode" and "^" keys on the trip computer panel.

    This opens up all sorts of fun functions. Use the mode button to toggle through to the cluster bulbs test. It will squeal at you and all gauges will go to half. Check for the cruise and active lights. Our VT also had the LPG bulb so you might be able to shuffle a couple of bulbs around to get what you need, or grab two bulb holders from a parts car/cluster. I can't remember what T# bulb holder they are.

    As for the clutch switch, my aftermarket cruise kit on my subi references the the brake switch via a momentary switch, once you push the clutch pedal the switch breaks the circuit that the cruise module monitors for a change in voltage. I'm sure the VT system would be the same or very similar. Can you find a VT wiring diagram to confirm?

    Cheers

    Bennie
     
  13. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,804
    Likes Received:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Also, make sure your brake lights are working otherwise the cruise control doesn't turn on.
     
  14. Lex

    Lex Active Member

    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    They also don't like led stop lights.
     
  15. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Yeah need to add resistors if LED's fitted.
     
  16. VT&VX

    VT&VX Active Member

    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Acclaim
  17. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
  18. Colin.J

    Colin.J New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VT commodore v6 eco tec
    I have the cruise light but the active light didn’t turn on, if it is not turning on will I need a new stick
     
  19. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Has the stick been replaced before? If not id say there lies your problem. It's very common for them to fail.
     

Share This Page