Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vt cranking but will not fire at all

Emma Aurisch

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
32
Location
tamworth+2340+nsw
Members Ride
Vt commodore v6 eco tech
Hey got vt v6 ecotec, had trouble since i bought it home... cranks but will not fire had a mechanic come round have a looked hooked it up to the computer and it started 2nd try for him and gave no fault codes that the car was i A1 condition...now a week on it stalled mid driving after bumpy drive way got it home and it hasn't started again...have changed leads and plugs coil pack, CAS, fuel pump, starter motor alternator, changed all fuses under bonnet oh also ignition barrel and key.. have no idea what is going on and am at a complete loss as to what to do now.
 

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
5,931
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE Berlina
Check the fault codes again using the paper clip method. I'm guessing DFI faulty but could be the wiring also. Check out all the wiring around the engine for damage.
 

Emma Aurisch

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
32
Location
tamworth+2340+nsw
Members Ride
Vt commodore v6 eco tech
Okay ill check it out now with the codes..engine light did flick on but iv disconnected the battery since should it still show codes?
 

Emma Aurisch

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
32
Location
tamworth+2340+nsw
Members Ride
Vt commodore v6 eco tech
Showing absolutely no fault codes just flashing the 12 over and over and over again....
 

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
5,931
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE Berlina
That makes it hard. Try again next time the engine light comes up.
Try checking for spark too
 

NeddyBear

Veteran Mountain Biker
Joined
May 5, 2011
Messages
1,488
Reaction score
196
Points
63
Location
Rubyvale, Qld
Members Ride
2004 2.5L Subaru Outback
Seems like theirs only one thing you haven't replaced and me to thinking might be the DFI.
 

Trevor loves holden.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
3,429
Reaction score
743
Points
113
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
vs commodore
Bumpy road, maybe a plug on the BCM or the ECU came out a little? Maybe a relay stuffed up, maybe earth wire came loose on the battery or even a loose terminal.
Is the light flashing on the dash while trying to start it?
 

Emma Aurisch

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
32
Location
tamworth+2340+nsw
Members Ride
Vt commodore v6 eco tech
Ok its finally giving me a code and its saying 46??? Have changed the CAS but not the CAM
 

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
12,702
Reaction score
6,002
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE SS Ute Shed Ornament
Is it running now? 46 is a funny one because its not always the crank sensor sometimes its the DFI.
 

Trevor loves holden.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
3,429
Reaction score
743
Points
113
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
vs commodore
DFI plug problem or DFI it self, what brand was the CAS u replaced? Have a close look at the wiring and pins on the plug lead for the DFI for corrosion and damaged pins.
 
Top