Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vt engine light came on

98vtberinla

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
gold coast
Members Ride
vt berlina
hi i have a 98 vt berlina series 1 filled up at the servo turned the car on and the engine light came on pretty much straight away while the engine light was on it reved slightly higher than usual(doing 100 on highway usally sits on 1500 when light was on did 2000)and also it was sluggish between gear changes ,pulled up turned the car off then turned it back on and the light hasnt come on since and has run perfect any ideas on what it could be???
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,201
Reaction score
397
Points
83
Age
68
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
Whenever the engine light comes on a fault code is usually logged in the computer. You can get the codes checked at Holden or any other place that has the right equipment. You can also check the codes on a V6 yourself, here is a link that will show you how: https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/checking-error-codes-vt-vx.23665. This will not work on a 5.7 V8.
The fact that your car was revving at 2000 rpm instead of 1500 suggests to me that it was not changing from 3rd to 4th gear.
 

98vtberinla

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
gold coast
Members Ride
vt berlina
ok just checked it codes came up 12 and 19 why would i get 12(system pass)as awell as 19(throttle position sensor)?
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,201
Reaction score
397
Points
83
Age
68
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
ok just checked it codes came up 12 and 19 why would i get 12(system pass)as awell as 19(throttle position sensor)?
It always starts with code 12 three times, then any other codes three times, then it ends with code 12 three times. Looks like the TPS could be your problem.
 

98vtberinla

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
gold coast
Members Ride
vt berlina
thats weird isnt it? if you get a code 12 wouldnt that come up alone with no other codes???
 

98vtberinla

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
gold coast
Members Ride
vt berlina
oh ok i see so its just code 19 what can i do with tps is there something i can do or do u just need to get a new one?
 
Top