Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VT headunit HELP!!

danx

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
hi all
i have a VT berlina, and i am wanting to put in a JVC head unit.
I was told its a major pain to get the stock headunit out. I am after peoples ideas and experiences on putting in a head unit, and how hard it is to take the standard one out.
I was told half the dash has to come out, but i see that on the head unit there are 2 small holes on either side... are there screws behind there that release the unit???

any links, pics, guides would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks heaps
 

daron

wizfiz
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
1,420
Reaction score
28
Points
48
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VE SSV
theres no screws what so ever
use either thin wires put down the 2 holes and the hole thing will slide out
or 1/8 mm drill bits work too
push the tabs inwards and pull it out
takes 2-3 secs to remove a vt radio
 

danx

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
thanks for that!!

i was told it was a massive job to replace a VT h/u

i will try this tomorrow.
i just changed over the stock speakers to 6'' pioneer.. sounds so much better.
I cant wait to get it all hooked up..

i
 

VTS5

TechJunkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
1,266
Reaction score
170
Points
63
Location
Sth.East\Melb
Members Ride
VE OMEGA 3.6L Dual Fuel
danx said:
i was told it was a massive job to replace a VT h/u
Is it possible to name the DH?
 

Lumps of cheese

welcome to the machine
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
2,770
Reaction score
37
Points
48
Age
42
Location
Warrnambool
Members Ride
83 vh sle, 4x4 hilux, 03 monaro, 07 nightrain
Not really a big job, if you are handy with this sort of thing.
Just make up a couple of handles out of a wire coat hanger to remove your stock unit, shove them it until you hear it 'click', then she just slides out!
Number of ways you can tackle the installation, it's been covered on here a number of times so you could try a search.
I personally just used a small hammer and lightly tapped the stock cage out a bit to fit the aftermarket cage and used pop rivets to hold it in, worked a treat and looked great with the little compartment underneath!
Whole job took about 11/2 hours.
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
40
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
It's a simple job to remove, but if you want to install the aftermarket one by screwing it into the car, then it can be a big job to do that. Most people don't screw the new one in though, they just use the cradle that comes with it and pop rivet that in place.
 
A

ASNIIC

Guest
easy as

seing as the stock unit is double din and the new unit single after you remove the old one you can buy a single din compartment with a bracket on it which is then screwed to the new head unit and pushed into place its that easy. if you are having trouble removing the old unit a thin coat hanger, cut in half the bent to look like this __ and this is the actual shape of the proper tools
/
\__
 
Top