Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VT high beam issue.

Slapphappy

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
28
Location
Roxby Downs
Members Ride
99' VT Commodore v6
Driving home last night, my high beam globe went out and I assumed it was a globe but after changing the globe over it turns out it's not. I get normal beam in both, then only one goes high beam. Also, when I just pull back my indicator it dims, when switched on properly it cuts out completely.

I wouldn't even know where to begin. Any advice.

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk 2
 

Nut Kracker

Donating Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
4,760
Reaction score
136
Points
63
Age
62
Location
Echuca Vic.
Members Ride
VT SS 304ci (195i)
Check fuses 29 (RHS) and 30 (LHS) in the fuse/relay compartment under the bonnet.
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,284
Reaction score
472
Points
83
Age
69
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
Check fuses 29 (RHS) and 30 (LHS) in the fuse/relay compartment under the bonnet.
I was going to suggest that as well. Strange things happen when one of those fuses blow.
 

Nut Kracker

Donating Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
4,760
Reaction score
136
Points
63
Age
62
Location
Echuca Vic.
Members Ride
VT SS 304ci (195i)
Make sure the insulation on the plug that connects to the bulb is intact.
The plug is very close to earth on the back of the light assembly.
If that little wire clip that holds the globe in becomes detached, the bulb becomes loose and the plug could short to earth. (As happened to me once)
 

Slapphappy

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
28
Location
Roxby Downs
Members Ride
99' VT Commodore v6
It's the fuse. But replacements just blow out instantly. Any ideas?

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk 2
 

Nut Kracker

Donating Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
4,760
Reaction score
136
Points
63
Age
62
Location
Echuca Vic.
Members Ride
VT SS 304ci (195i)
It's the fuse. But replacements just blow out instantly. Any ideas?

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk 2
As suggested before....Take off the rubber boot/s at the back of the light and check for anything unusual,
like a loose plug, worn, frayed or burnt wires, loose globe fitment, bulb clip un done etc.
 

Slapphappy

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
28
Location
Roxby Downs
Members Ride
99' VT Commodore v6
I've had a look and as far as my expertise goes it's fine.the wire clip is fine and the wires that go into the plug seem fine.

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk 2
 
Top