Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VT stereo removal and after install

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by andrewgrazier, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    Hi
    im going to replace the eurovox single cd player in the car with a pioneer head unit.
    what id like to know is what i have to do really
    i have a manual
    but like
    do i need the stereo removal tool?
    it dosent say anythin about screws as well
    like im sure the head unit just dosent sit in the car
    cause according to the manual i put in the tool n just pull the unit out

    aslo i was wondering if its hard to screw the new head unit in and if any modificatisons are needed to the inside of the dash to hold it.
    ill buy a pocket to go underneith as well

    aaaaaaand one last thing
    has anyone used one of them ISO Harnesses?
     
  2. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    As far needing a special tool goes, no you don't. Just get a wire coat hanger, cut two pieces about 8-10 long, bend them into a U shape so they fit into the 2 holes either side of the head unit, push them in and they will disengage it and you can pull it out.
    A lot depends on your new head unit to say how you will instal it. You will probly need an adapter plug for the electrics to make things easier, rather than cutting wires. That way you can put original unit back in if you sell the car or something. I don't know what an ISO harness is, but it may be what I wrongly referred to as an adaptor plug.
     
  3. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    hmm ok
    yeah these ISO harnesses are like so you can plug pretty much straight into the plug that used to go into the old stereo
    but i am not positive ill check it out soon
     
  4. danielsan

    danielsan Member

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VT2 SS 5.7/A4
    the new stereo will come with all the mounting brackets needed and possibly with the harness/addapter already, otherwise most places that sell them will have one to suit.
     
  5. Thomo

    Thomo UNLEASH THE LION WITHIN

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Goldcoast
    Members Ride:
    FAMILY VT & HONDA 04 CRF250
    i just cut the wires behind the plug so & left it on the double din headunit when i put a single cd in so that u could use the double din in another car or if i sold the car easy to put back in.just make sure u solder the wire so u have good contact then get some heat shrink to cover the wires:thumbsup: .upgrading to mp3 player next weekend:w00t:
     
  6. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    yeap well im just waitin for mine to arrive
    its a poineer 6685 ? maybe im not sure the numbers
    its like got a blue motorised face
    loooks like it should be good engouh for me :)
     
  7. wrx884

    wrx884 WA's ASR Rep

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini
    The old wiring harness wont fit unto ur new head deck as wen u get ur new head deck u will see the new harness is alot more compact if the iso fits in the new deck use it but its not hard 2 put the old harness back in if u do sell the car n want ur head deck out, specially if ur only playin the new deck through ur factory speakers its just a matter of following the colour codes.
     
  8. Spyper

    Spyper New Member

    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sunshine, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX II Acclaim
    I used an ISO wiring harness, just solder the wires from the harness onto the wires from the deck, and plug the harness into the harness inside the car. As far as attaching the deck into the DIN, to screw it in you need to remove a fair bit. Screw inside the center console allows you to slide it right back.. take the dash and gear stick surround out, and remove the two kick panels either side of the center. Lots of screws to remove, and takes awhile if you've never done it before.

    I'm unsure of other ways to attach it, but that seemed the most secure way to me.
     
  9. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    hm ok i think ill just solder on a new connection to the new harness that the new unit has
    label everything as well with some stickers n then shove the new unit in.
    ive allready replaced the speakers but i havent replaced the speaker wire
    i noticed that the rear wires were allright but the front ones didnt look that great
    like the copper in it was noticablly more dark on some strands n didnt look too great
    for sound quality i might replace when i put the new unit in.
     
  10. wrx884

    wrx884 WA's ASR Rep

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini
    Y screw the new deck in??? i didnt need 2 with my pioneer deck and id say u wouldnt need 2 with this pioneer deck either, as its such a tight fit neways wen u put ur "holder/frame" as its called in wen u slide in ur head deck it pushes 2 outside clips out so it cant come out either way and locks it in place just like ur old eurovox was sittin in there nicely thats y they give u 2 little tools so if ya eva need 2 get it out u use them like u did with the coat hanger???
     
  11. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    hmmm thats interesting

    ive looked at some of the pockets n they have like clips n they apparnty just Push into place n thats all you have to do
     
  12. Spyper

    Spyper New Member

    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sunshine, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX II Acclaim
    I tried that, believe me, but the holder wouldn't fit into the din along with the HU. It might have been something wrong that I was doing, but **** me did I try nearly everything I could and it would NOT go in. I even dismantled the eurovox JUST to get the casing from it. Put the HU inside there and tried to fit it in, but it wouldn't fit either =(
     
  13. wrx884

    wrx884 WA's ASR Rep

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini

    Did u have a pioneer head deck also????
     
  14. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    farrrkk
    i hope this isnt gona take an entire day!
    i remember i had to make a complete custom pocket n brackets for my old car
    it looked good but took ages :(
     
  15. donz

    donz New Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Western Suburbs, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    juz go and buy the $20 adaptor from super cheap auto and connect it to the original connection, then all the wires are labelled and you juz match them to the ones from your head deck. 5 min job. then do as wrx884 sed, juz put it in the metal frame holder thing and it will lock in tightly. then juz buy a din pocket from autobarn for $10...all done mate.
     

Share This Page