Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VX Dash and assorted interior upgrades...

Wombat

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2003
Messages
425
Reaction score
16
Points
0
Age
56
Location
Bluff, Queensland
Members Ride
VX-II Lumina Sedan
I've just got a question on some interior bits on our VX-II Lumina.

The dash we have has the standard trip and fuel useage setup, the single window. Is it possible to put in the three-window dash unit? Is it a simple "plug and play" deal or is there a lot of other stuffing around to make the full trip computer dash work on a car that never had it new?

The interior light: I would like to fit the upmarket one with individual maplights and switches instead of the standard single light. Is this also a simple unscrew-the-old-one-plug-in-the-new-one job, or is there extra wiring?

Thanks for any info!
 

BOGANV8

I gotta V8 whoot whoot
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
698
Reaction score
13
Points
0
Age
41
Location
Armidale
Members Ride
VX 02 SS LS1
The interior light: I would like to fit the upmarket one with individual maplights and switches instead of the standard single light. Is this also a simple unscrew-the-old-one-plug-in-the-new-one job, or is there extra wiring?



This one im keen on knowing the answer too aswell
 

Wombat

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2003
Messages
425
Reaction score
16
Points
0
Age
56
Location
Bluff, Queensland
Members Ride
VX-II Lumina Sedan
Thanks!

Looks like luckily the wiring harness is the same, and it indeed is jus a simple "out with the old and in with the new", then off to the Holden dealer to get it checked over! Easy!

Well...not that easy...finding a good cluster won't be that easy I imagine...and finding one cheap would be even harder...:D
 

avon57

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
Members Ride
vr acclaim, vx2 acclaim
The interior light is a simple change.

Just unclip the lense cover, unplug the harness, unscrew two screws and fit the new one...

Works fine..

Cheers..
 

Rogers VIC

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
2001 VX Equipe
Hi new to Just commodores been reading for a while but joined for this reason.

I have taken out the stock interior light unplugged and have an extra connection which I'm guessing is +ve for map lights. Map light ground runs to screw.

i.e. 1 plug on standard and 2 plugs on calais light. (2nd socket has a single wire running to it white and black)

It's not plug and play just not sure where I should splice this extra wire to, to get the map lights working?

PLEASE HELP ;)
 

Rogers VIC

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
2001 VX Equipe
All sorted just used a scotch clip to splice the extra wire to the brown negative.
 
Top