Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vx distance until empty

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by MR_VX, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. MR_VX

    MR_VX Forced to be Fast

    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX S pac SII Raptorcharged
    Hi all just woundering why my " distance until empty " always says 1000km. it doesnt matter if i fill it right up or only put half a tank in it. what would be faulty here?
     
  2. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Awesome fuel economy? LOL.

    Do you have a different fuel pump? Like another model that isn't a direct changeover for the factory item? Also possible something has changed in the tune?
     
  3. MR_VX

    MR_VX Forced to be Fast

    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX S pac SII Raptorcharged
    fuel pump is the same from factory, never change it. the only tune/chip is the chip torque it got for my supercharger but its only been saying 1000km until empty for the last 3-4 months. i got the chip over a year ago now.

    could it be a faulty sensor?
     
  4. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Possible. So does it decrease as you drive, or does it ALWAYS say 1000km?
     
  5. MR_VX

    MR_VX Forced to be Fast

    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX S pac SII Raptorcharged
    it says 1000km for a while like few days the drops very quickly. i use to watch it over then the fuel gauge, because the last 1/4 disappears really quickly. but not sure will to trust so i wanna get it fixed
     
  6. edals

    edals Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Here
    Members Ride:
    VE Equipe
    must be a faulty sensor in the tank or something, mine always works, full tank shows 890. yet to archive that but got 750 before lol, and drops by 5km lots
     
  7. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Yeah the fuel level arm/'floaty thing' (LOL) might be getting stuck at full or just be dying.
     
  8. NIIIIIK

    NIIIIIK New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Wollongong, Aus
    Members Ride:
    VX Equipe
    in the dash you can change what it reads cant you?
     
  9. helicraze

    helicraze New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VT II Clubsport R8
    If its only distance till empty and not the fuel guage itself then it must be software related.

    I had a new fuel pump and sender installed in my VT2 R8, long story short after 4 new units and factory holden calibration the fuel guage is still off. I talked to holden assitance they only wasted my time and never followed up.
     
  10. MR_VX

    MR_VX Forced to be Fast

    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX S pac SII Raptorcharged
    mmmm sounds like its going to be a pain in the ass if i have to pull the fuel take out to fix it
     
  11. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Sure is. In the VX they put the pump on the top of the tank, so you have to drop the tank to get too it. Its not really hard, but best to have a mate with you to help. Also make sure you run the tank to near dry, it ain't fun undoing the last strap and realizing there is still 50 litres of fuel in there.
     
  12. MR_VX

    MR_VX Forced to be Fast

    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX S pac SII Raptorcharged
    arr great. might just leave that problem for another year or so lol
     
  13. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Nah it won't take you longer than 2 hours max. Though it is a lot easier with ramps or a hoist as normal chassis stands won't leave you with much room to maneuver.
     
  14. MR_VX

    MR_VX Forced to be Fast

    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX S pac SII Raptorcharged
    i wish i had ramps or a hoist, id do alot more to the car
     

Share This Page