Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VX II 3.8L Ecotec LPG Overhaul (Backfire/Air Box/Smell)

DEiiTY

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Acclaim II Wagon MY02 3.8L (L36) ECOTEC
Before I start, I will admit I am a complete noob and have next to no idea what I am doing. That being said, I do have an electrical engineering degree and I've toyed around with car electronics before, so I do have a capacity to learn, but there are so so many people talking trash and saying crap like "eagle leads gave me 20kw increase". I suppose I'm kind of like a disciple and in need of a prophet offering solid advice rather than "the wrong advices".

So I've had this issue going on a few years. Car would run fine, all of a sudden I'd get series of backfires, and every single time without fail it would shatter my airbox - this mostly happens when i punch it in the guts off the lights. I also sometimes get engine light come on for minutes at a time, recently it's been for full 1.5hour drives, but only on LPG, never happens on petrol. I've read a few threads which covered my issue so I know where my issues *should* lie.. I'm also getting horrible (from what I think) economy on both LPG and Petrol. LPG is around 320km of a usable 52L. A tank of Petrol is generally getting me around 420km.

So obviously I will need to get an LPG tune done (haven't had one in the last 5 years - yes I know, probably the source of my problems) but I have a very specific request, I want to know which parts to buy prior to getting a tune done to remedy my problem and hopefully prevent me from every having this issue again.