Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vx speedo

pma

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
21
Location
nz
Members Ride
S2 vX 2oo2 5PoiNT7 A4 WheeLie BaRS FLuFFY DiCe
my speedo crapped out, would a replacement from another VX slot right in or does it need to be married in?
 

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
3,737
Reaction score
1,225
Points
113
Age
58
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VX Executive Sii
if you replace cluster your odometer will not be correct and may need airbags, tacho etc recalibrated
try to find a same model with similar km's
 

pma

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
21
Location
nz
Members Ride
S2 vX 2oo2 5PoiNT7 A4 WheeLie BaRS FLuFFY DiCe
just curious .. but how does airbags, tacho etc have to work with similar mileage?
 

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
3,737
Reaction score
1,225
Points
113
Age
58
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VX Executive Sii
afaik the speedo is not a separate component in the cluster
 

EYY

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
5,444
Reaction score
1,512
Points
113
Location
Vic
Members Ride
VS Statesman
Just find a cluster from a car with the same specs as yours with similar mileage (that is, same number of airbags, pretensioners, engine config, body type and tank capacity) and you can fit it straight in.

But if you have the tool to change the config, you can get one from v6/v8/sedan/ute/wagon etc it doesn't matter. You cannot change the mileage on a used odometer though.
 

pma

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
21
Location
nz
Members Ride
S2 vX 2oo2 5PoiNT7 A4 WheeLie BaRS FLuFFY DiCe
cheers fellas
 
Top