Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vy aircondion

Vy Commodore man

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
43
Location
Liverpool
Members Ride
By Commodore calais
Does aircondion need a specific amount of regas pressure to make it run,an what amount??
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
647
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
Yes, there is a specific amount of gas that required to be installed In each system.
And also needs to check the pressures on the high and low side. That will also indicate the correct amount of gas installed.
if you need a regas, that’s an indication you have a leak, as they are sealed systems.
 

Vy Commodore man

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
43
Location
Liverpool
Members Ride
By Commodore calais
Just can't understand it.last summer regased it leaks an all an compressor works sweet!!! Ok I fix whats needed,low an high valves 3 bucks each, tx valve 30 bucks, get it leak tested sweet!!!!, but than told compressor won't engage,???, ok what might be the missing link here?????
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
4,071
Reaction score
1,919
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
If the compressor won’t engage it could be the clutch solenoid. It’s an easy fix.

Might be some ways to test it.
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
647
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
The Compressor wont engage because its low on Gas,
there is a High and Low Pressure Switch that measures the amount of pressure in the system,
and if it too low,
it WILL NOT allow the compressor to engage,
so you don't damage the system hardware with little to no gas in the system.
With the experience over the years I have had with Air Con systems, also Car systems,
The first thing to do, is get the system pressure tested, that will reveal the result.

I would probably be replacing the Compressor, as I would bet that the Gas has leaked out via the Compressor,
as the Calais has a Climate Control system and it starts working when you start the car.
and again make sure they use Fluorescent oil/dye in it,
So you can see where its leaking from with a UV Torch.

I have a noisy compressor, it vibrates when the car is idling down,
So I have one here to replace it with I purchased from a wrecker. [$66]
Then vac it out, and gas it up.
 
Last edited:

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
647
Points
113
Location
Bayside Melbourne 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
If it wont engage -
Check the Pressures,
Check the Fuses
Check to make sure you have voltage at the Clutch Plug/Connector.
Check the clutch coil resistance,
 

Vy Commodore man

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
43
Location
Liverpool
Members Ride
By Commodore calais
We're getting somewhere now!!!, the low on gas idea sounds logical, an that's the conversation I had with mechanic who said he pressure an leak tested it am was all good but could not get compressor to engage?? An I do think he's trying it on!!
 

Vy Commodore man

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
43
Location
Liverpool
Members Ride
By Commodore calais
Still a little confused on aircondion fuses,or relay??,damn it's all over the joint!!!,
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
4,071
Reaction score
1,919
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
There’s someone missing from this thread. I just can’t quite put my finger on it. :)
 

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
9,467
Reaction score
3,278
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VR Ute V6
There’s someone missing from this thread. I just can’t quite put my finger on it. :)
The issue is the gas R134 is so bad..... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
Top