Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VY Ecotec conversion worth doing?

triple b

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
VS Commodore
Hey guys, just wondering how much it costs to swap to an ecotec from a VY into a VS?

Is it worth doing?
Do i need to find a manual VY ECU to go with my t5 or can i just use my existing ECU?
Rough costs?
 

FstStig

Diagnostician
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Age
31
Location
Central Coast, NSW
Members Ride
2010 VE SV6
Should be a fairly straight swap, just make sure you get your wiring harness and you will probably need to modify a few things such as your EGR Valve and your Coolant temp sender/sensor as they are one on the VY's. You may need to get the VY ecu and have it programmed for your Manual, shouldn't be to much of a hassle other wise.
 

Z2TT

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
314
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Members Ride
VL Commodore
Why do you want to take an ECOTEC out and put the same motor back in?
Are you after a lower K motor ?
 

triple b

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
VS Commodore
Why do you want to take an ECOTEC out and put the same motor back in?
Are you after a lower K motor ?
Yeah im after a motor with lower K's. I think my rear main seal has gone (will look tomoro) and figured if i gotta take the motor out to fix that then i will look into a VY ecotec if its worth doing
 

clubsport-r8

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Central Coast
Members Ride
VS V6, VZ Clubsport R8
& the VY ecotec has 5kw stock then a VS Ecotec lol, you would be better off just finding a low KM engine from a VS, straight swap without messing around with wiring harnesses, or sensors.

I would only go the VY Ecotec if I couldn't source a low KM VS Ecotec but that is just IMO.
 

Burnout124

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
258
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Western Australia
Members Ride
VY Executive S2/ VY SS 6sp
you can use the vy motor just put your vs manafold on it and you wont have to worry about sensors or the ecu
 

Decicrate

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
777
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Location
BrisVagus
Members Ride
VS L67

triple b

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
VS Commodore
Originally Posted by nathanVS View Post
L67 instead, easier
+1 best bang for buck you can get.
Slight isssue, still on my P's :( Another 2 bloody years
 
Top