Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VY Feels Like It's Choking and Shaky on Start

Alcyone

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY 2003 V6 Ecotec
Pretty sure this is my first post. Been here since last year and always come back to look stuff up. Great site with some awesome people helping out.

Okay, having an issue with my Mum's VY 2003 Gen1 Auto. The problem is beyond me. I only started learning about cars last year. I often get part names wrong too so heads up on that :) Hope I can explain the problem properly.

Car is dual LPG & Unleaded. LPG added about 10 years ago. Great mileage on both. The problem we're having happens on either LPG or Unleaded. Start the car and it feels like it shakes a bit and idle is rough. Give it 30 secs and it usually comes good. Cars not a daily driver. Gets driven maybe once or twice a week. 360,000km on the clock.

Problem 1: A couple times, after starting the car, let it sit for a minute, then start driving for maybe 30 secs, you notice that if you try to accelerate, feels like it's choking or missing or something. Put your foot down and you really notice it. Can come good after a few minutes.
Went for a 1 hour drive on a 40deg day (we live in the country), left the car for a couple hours. Started it back up and seemed okay but after about 30 secs, I realised that I couldn't accelerate properly again. It ran rough as guts for about 20 mins even when I got it up to 100kms/h. Eventually came good after the 20mins. Exact same thing happened a couple weeks before.

Problem 2: Continuing from above - drove an hour back home, turned the car off and tried to start it again. Car wouldn't turn over. It tried to turn over but the engine felt like it was about to shake itself out of the engine bay. Wouldn't start until it cooled back down 15 mins later.