Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VY manual engine into VX auto....Transmission won't engage. Solutions?

brismuso

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
Holden Commodore VX Executive S2 2002
Hi there, I've just placed a VY manual engine into my old VX auto wagon(blew the head in the old engine). I've started the car up just fine, she sounds great but the transmission is not engaging at all. Any ideas as to what the problem could be??
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,273
Reaction score
469
Points
83
Age
69
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
Which ECU/PCM are you using, the VY or the VX? If it is the VY one that could be the problem.
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
441
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
did you make sure the torque convertor was fully in the box before bolting up the engine
 

brismuso

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
Holden Commodore VX Executive S2 2002
Wouldn't it not bolt back in if the Torque Converter wasn't right in??
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
441
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
it does bolt up and push the pump into the trans killing it in the process if you dont fully seat the TC into the box first.did you have to pull the convertor foward out of the box upto the flex plate to bolt it on or was it allready hard up against the flex plate
 

brismuso

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
Holden Commodore VX Executive S2 2002
We changed the motor so that the TC and the flexplate were already bolted to the motor... We lowered the motor into the transmission.
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
441
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
gearbox is Fu543ed
 

Brett_jjj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
6,805
Reaction score
96
Points
48
Location
Tamworth NSW
Members Ride
vs commodore
You cannot bolt the torque converter to the engine first, it has to be sat in the transmission and then spun around by hand whilst its being pushed back into the trans, it will slip/click back into place in the trans 2 or 3 times before its in its final correct position. If this is not done, it stuffs the trans pump etc when the engine is bolted up to the trans, so your auto trans is most likey stuffed now..
You really should follow a workshop manual when doing this type of work if you are not experienced at it, you cant get it wrong then.
 
Top