Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VY trans into VS

Langas

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
94
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
North Adelaide
Members Ride
VX SS 5.7
Hi Guys,
I have a VS Wagon with a VX ecotec in it.

I am looking at putting another trans in it as this one is slipping pretty badly, surges and doesn't kick back nicely.....in other words....its stuffed!

Has anyone here had any success putting a VY auto box into a VS? If so, what was different / what did you have to do?

Any advice appreciated.

Simon
 

Langas

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
94
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
North Adelaide
Members Ride
VX SS 5.7
Surely someone knows something about this!
 

PanthaVS

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
374
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Members Ride
VS S-Pack SII
with the right conversion bell housing and mounts. anything is possible?

try ringing castlemaine rod shop? they do a lot of conversions... they might point you in the right direction...

or try ringing wreckers that specialise in holdens... they might help you too!
 

centy

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
911
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Members Ride
Vp series 2
I'm not 100% sure but i think you just need to change the extension housing and the plug on the harness that goes into the box.
I was planning to go vx engine and box into a vp but had trouble getting the vs wiring.
that was what i found that would need to be changed.
 

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
5,064
Reaction score
3,856
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
can be done, but ur better off finding a VS auto.

teh vs autos bellhousing has cut outs at the bottom to allow the exhaust thru the tight engine bay, the VT and up autos have a full bellhousing so you have to get ur exhaust redone, possibly underneath the steering rack.

from memory the VT+ has an extra pin on the plug so u might have problems unless you work out what it is. there are few threads on putting in a VT or VX box in the VS bay, a few members have done it successfullly.
 

Langas

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
94
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
North Adelaide
Members Ride
VX SS 5.7
Ended up putting a VX trans in today. Got one out of a wreck with 90,000k's on it.

The wreckers did a couple of minor modifications to it for me to make it fit including cutting a small section from the bellhousing and modifying the dust plate.

I had to redrill a couple of holes in the rear crossemember to fit it as the new trans mounts were about an inch further back than the vs trans.

Wiring was all plug and play. the plugs were the same between my VS and the VX trans I put it.

All in all, an excellent modification. Car drives just like a VX now....not like a slushbox of a VS!
 
Top