Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vy v6 starts not running

Dirtyv6

Donating Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
29
Points
18
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
VS Ute 3.8 V6
Hi all,

Vy v6 ecotec.

Drive home was fine, no problems.

Parked, came back 15min later would not start, would not even crank.

Swapped out coil packs, plugs, no change. Checked for fuel, fuel there.

Replaced crank angle and cam angle sensors, it now cranks and starts, but immediately dies. Will run if you keep a foot on the accelerator, but will go from barely idling at 800 rpm to 4500rpm with no pedal movement.
Sounds best I can describe like a enormous cam, really really choppy.
I I thought maybe a vacuum leak but I've checked and everything seems okay.

I can hear what I think is hissing but it sounds like it's coming up through the shifter.?
Not throwing codes.

Genuinely unsure as to what's next.

I'm thinking maybe inlet manifold gaskets or head but just unsure.
 

TheIceman

Active Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
482
Reaction score
34
Points
28
Members Ride
VY Ex-cop
hard without seeing it or listening it, upload a youtube video.
sort of sounds like fuel pressure issue. put a pressure gauge on it.
 

Dirtyv6

Donating Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
29
Points
18
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
VS Ute 3.8 V6
hard without seeing it or listening it, upload a youtube video.
sort of sounds like fuel pressure issue. put a pressure gauge on it.
Good idea actually.

How much movement should the injectors have? I was able to spin them around by hand.
 

TheIceman

Active Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
482
Reaction score
34
Points
28
Members Ride
VY Ex-cop
check fuel pressure, can turn injectors, thats normal. they are just on 2 'O' rings
 

Dirtyv6

Donating Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
29
Points
18
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
VS Ute 3.8 V6
Pulled the plenum off to check the fuel pressure regulator, and found the gasket ripped on the front runner. Would this be the cause of my issue?
 

Attachments

The1

A Memcal a Day Keeps..
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
2,363
Reaction score
44
Points
48
Location
QLD
Website
www.eyeit.org
Members Ride
VS V6 Berlina Auto
If it's not cranking at all it could be a security issue with key, starter relay, BCM or starter motor. The BCM wont let the relay engage for the starter motor until the correct key fob is present.

Now that it's cranking it sounds like either to lean or to rich, the only things left that would make it that bad would be DFI module or injectors/fuel pump. I wouldn't worry to much about gaskets a small leak will just sque the fuel ratios which the o2 sensor and MAF will auto correct it should still run better than that with a gasket leak.
 
Last edited:

Dirtyv6

Donating Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
29
Points
18
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
VS Ute 3.8 V6
You're right, replaced the gaskets and still no change.

I've swapped a few DFI modules in and haven't had any changes.

Next step as suggested above will be checking fuel pressure.

Can I ask, how far in should the injectors sit?

just want to make sure its not something as simple as I haven't got them in far enough.
 

The1

A Memcal a Day Keeps..
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
2,363
Reaction score
44
Points
48
Location
QLD
Website
www.eyeit.org
Members Ride
VS V6 Berlina Auto
injectors look fine, below the green bit is a black rubber oring.

Check fuel pressure otherwise get injectors tested and cleaned.
 

evBenji

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,033
Reaction score
59
Points
48
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VY Commodore
could it be the MAF sensor? i think i left a plug off the maf once and it went a bit bazzurk

before your video was thinking TPS, are all the vaccum hoses on and sealed, especially at the back of the rocker cover driver side theres a little device with 2 vaccum hoses, fl

u could have a snapped little wire on a sensor and very hard to find

clear the service error

are there any check engine warnings coming up, gotta be a sensor plug hanging off somewhere i reckon
 
Top