Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ Berlina Wagon l67 conversion

Leno_Zen1111

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Berlina Wagon
Hi guys
First time post, but been reading these useful posts for years.
So long story short, I've had my alloytec for about 12 months. In that 12 months have spent too much money on the car fixing things that leave the car undrivable.

Last thing was about 3 weeks ago I am no mechanic myself which is why I couldn't diagnose the issue yet I had a mechanic tell me it was multiple things. Replaced them, no go
Replaced more no go.

I got fed up, seen a l67 ecotec conversion for a good price. You beauty how hard could it be,
I'm now balls deep into this job too far to come back from and I'm just looking for some info on things to expect.

Obviously taking a step backward in time is never going to be easy, especially from alloy to eco. But the ecotec is such a better engine.

So far I've got all the suspension power steering rack wheels all bolted to the new k frame which the engine came with . It's currently sitting under the car an I'm ready to drop the car down.

I got the ECU with the engine, high flow headers, wiring loom k frame, belts hoses etc
I've gone out and bought from an ecotec
a new air box and maf
Accelerator pedal box and cable
Air con pump compressor as they are different
A bcm and key fob just in case for some reason I need one out of an ecotec
And heater hoses.
I'm unsure if the fuel lines to the tank and fuel pump will need changing
And I'm also curious about the ECU and bcm linking or what I have to do in this case to link them.

If there is any other inconveniences I may experience any kind of advice would be c completely appreciated. I'm totally aware this could have been a dumb idea but what do you do.

Thanks for your time
Greg

scaredyet