Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register
  1. Just Commodores will be offline at some point today (26/6/2019), moving to new hardware, downtime is unknown at this stage and very likely to be data loss as the existing data centre has the power pulled.


    Dismiss Notice

vz engine prefix

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by eko, Sep 18, 2013.

  1. eko

    eko 3kO

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    Soon to own vb commy end of year
    hi guys im changing the engine on my vz commodore (work car) its a v6 alloytec 10hbh engine on it.
    i found a 10hba engine at a low price i was just wondering what is the difference between them and would that engine work on my car if i out it in cheers.
     
  2. 88GreenVN

    88GreenVN Next Exit Left

    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Surprise, Arizona
    Members Ride:
    Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
    From what I understand if you fit the wrong engine prefix to your VZ there is a good chance it wont work.
     
  3. eko

    eko 3kO

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    Soon to own vb commy end of year
    yehh im sorta thinking on that to but im just wondering what is different about them is it all the electronic components ecu wiring etc...
     
  4. Hrd455

    Hrd455 New Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    Vz v6 ute
    Stick to the same prefix and u wont have any dramas
     
  5. 88GreenVN

    88GreenVN Next Exit Left

    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Surprise, Arizona
    Members Ride:
    Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
    The story I was told was the engine loom and ECU had to be changed - but this was like 3 years ago. The car took a week to get going.

    So now they buy cars to wreck out (wrecking yard that do engine swaps all the time) for the engine number prefix. It's the same for VE's - get the prefix wrong and you add lotsa $$$ to the bill.

    VZ and VE motors are still selling for around $1500. How cheap is the VZ motor you have been offered?

    Sometimes it can be cheaper to change the chains (if thats the issue)
     
  6. rory

    rory Donating Member

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    2014 VF SV6 & 2006 Nissan Patrol ST
    I have gone the other way, from hba to hbh, there was 2 extra plugs and I'm not sure what they were for but if you pull the loom off the hbh and put it on the hba then you should be alright, this might include the intake manifold coming off.


    Sent from my iPhone
     
  7. eko

    eko 3kO

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    Soon to own vb commy end of year
    well i have the hbh motor the one i found the guy wants $1000 for the motor and box together but his is a hba other than that i found a few hbh motors from 1700 plus
     
  8. eko

    eko 3kO

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    Soon to own vb commy end of year
    my current one its got spun bearings and the con-rod for the forth piston needs to be changed i got a quote on bearings and con-rod all parts came up to bout 3 or 400 dollars somewhere round that and labor for free as my cousin was going to do it
     
  9. ozyjimbo

    ozyjimbo New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Location:
    Geelong
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    rory could you recall what you had to do when you swapped the 10hba to the 10 hbh???
     

Share This Page